• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

amd 2700xp to e6400 upgrade?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

timtooAMD

hi everyone, ive been wanting to upgrade my computer for a long time now, think my sig might need to be updated but its pretty much the same, 2700xp at stock (2.166) i think 2gig 2700 ram and a 6800gt AGP

what i am planning to do is to slowly upgrade my mechine, over say a year or so (because i am a student, and i have the money (just about) but best to spred it out over a long time, and also means if i run short on cash, i can just halt spending money on my computer for a bit

basiclly i play a lot of games, really want to have top end but no way can i afford more than £350 at the present time, so what i was planning to do was to get e6400, and a agp mobo, and to use my graphics card for a while till i have more money to really go for a pcie setup (seen agp core 2 duo boreds for around £40), as i do some video editing, little bit of photo shop, downloading and general messing around on my computer stuff

but i wanted to know peoples opionons, i know that a 6800gt would be a bottle neck, but its not at the moment, my processor limits me at present, but i dont know what ram i should get, so far the only AGP 775 boreds supporting core 2 duo seem to only get max of ddr 400, and going from 2gig 333 to 512/1 gig poss 400 i thought would not be worth it, i was wondering if anybody else has ever done a slow upgrade, graduly replacing parts every few months or so?

overclocking i would like to do, but not untill i have full setup so mobo only needs to really take desent ram/agp at present

what do you think? - and also has anybody ever noticed a sig improvement from anything close to my AMD 2700+ xp to a 2duo?