Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Fan Duct problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-06, 09:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
Fan Duct problem


I installed a fan duct to the cpu, but the damn thing did NOTHING to those HIGH temperatures- 62C load. In my room smells of heated hardware THis new rig brought me nothing except 62C..... Please give me some help Thanks
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:01 AM   #2
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Which rig


Which of your rigs are we talking about and did you build it or buy it?
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:09 AM Thread Starter   #3
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
The new one, "KOMET". I build it. The problem is my case. But....also money... I was of course angry on it, but of course its a lot more performance. Also a new problem - heat. Maybe I should also add an intake fan over the duct? By the way mobo temps are a lot lower from 45C to 39C
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:14 AM   #4
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Question


Do you have an exhaust fan anywhere?
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:16 AM Thread Starter   #5
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
nope I don't have where to place it. Only if I make a big hole in the case. But it is placed into my desk
edit, my case:


So I don't have where to place the exhaust fan

Last edited by delta107; 11-26-06 at 10:25 AM.
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:24 AM   #6
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
OK Then


I looked at your case and see what you mean. If you already put a duct in the side, then you can put a fan on it but frankly I'd have it blow out since there is no other exhaust. Remove some of the PCI slot blanks to let air get sucked in through them and it should cool things down a lot.
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:28 AM   #7
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Is this your case?


Name:  midi-der_fon.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  21.1 KB
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:32 AM   #8
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by delta107
nope I don't have where to place it. Only if I make a big hole in the case. But it is placed into my desk
edit, my case:


So I don't have where to place the exhaust fan
Is that the back?
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:33 AM Thread Starter   #9
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
Yes its the back.
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:37 AM   #10
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Answer


Quote:
Originally Posted by delta107
Yes its the back.
Put a fan in the duct blowing out and make sure there is somewhere open for it to draw air in. Is there maybe a vent in the front? If not remove some of the lower PCI slot blanks so it can get fresh air from somewhere.

How big is the duct hole? Is it big enough for an 80mm fan?
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:41 AM   #11
enz660
Member

 
enz660's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canton, CT

 
well dude....I looked at your case as well, and I have come to the simple conclusion that the airflow if it is horrendous. That case looks like its made for low end systems. If I were you, I would buy some cheap case with dual 120mm fans (1 in front, 1 in back) It would solve all your problems.

If you cant buy something, see how much lower the temps get once you take off the side panel. Maybe your ambient temps are high? See if you can make some holes in that side panal and install some fans there. Maybe make two holes over the gpu and cpu, and install two yateloons there.
enz660 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 10:48 AM   #12
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
IMO


It is only a Celeron. IMO one exhaust fan in the back where he already put a duct will take care of the problem for now.
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:00 AM Thread Starter   #13
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
Quote:
It is only a Celeron. IMO one exhaust fan in the back where he already put a duct will take care of the problem for now.
That's the problem. Celerons run hot. I will buy a new case, but not now. My ambient temps are 29C, though outside is 8C. I need a quick solution. By the way, I also wanted to ask. My computer smells yes maybe its because of the heat?
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:05 AM   #14
enz660
Member

 
enz660's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canton, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by delta107
That's the problem. Celerons run hot. I will buy a new case, but not now. My ambient temps are 29C, though outside is 8C. I need a quick solution. By the way, I also wanted to ask. My computer smells yes maybe its because of the heat?
nah, celerons are smelly cpu's, its normal for them to stink

jk, generally....things start to smell when they get hot, Im guessing heat is your issue.
enz660 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:09 AM   #15
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
INFO


Quote:
Originally Posted by enz660
nah, celerons are smelly cpu's, its normal for them to stink

jk, generally....things start to smell when they get hot, Im guessing heat is your issue.
Another Rocket Scientist. J/K
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:09 AM Thread Starter   #16
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by enz660
nah, celerons are smelly cpu's, its normal for them to stink

jk, generally....things start to smell when they get hot, Im guessing heat is your issue.
Thats bad? Are they melting?
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:14 AM   #17
darkcow
Member

 
darkcow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006

 
61c is not melting. 61c is fine.


try reseting the heatsink with some AS5.

__________________
EVGA 780i - P08 [ FSB:1.4v SPP:1.5v MCP:1.65v SPP<>MCP:1.4v ]
Q6600 G0 L747A [ 400x9:3.6ghz @ 1.43v - 445x9:4.0Ghz @ 1.55v ]
xFx GTX260 216 Black Edition [ GPU:740Mhz Shader:1515 Ram:1215Mhz ]
2x 1 GB - 2x 2 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2-800 4-4-4-12 [ 990Mhz ]
Win 7 Build 7600 - Arch Linux

Apogee GTZ - MCW60-R - 2xMCR320 - MCP655 - MasterKleer 7/16
7x yate loons - 2x Arctic fan 8

All in my wooden case
darkcow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:19 AM Thread Starter   #18
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
Don't have as5. Anyway, but it smells.I can't leave the comp open for long time My parents bother that from my room smells of heated hardware. I opened even the window. No way. With my "OLD NAVY, I also got such thing, but a lot more supportable. Maybe thats from my northbridge or southbridge, though pc probe 2 gives 39C on load
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 11:40 AM   #19
jph1589
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
INFO


Quote:
Originally Posted by delta107
Don't have as5. Anyway, but it smells.I can't leave the comp open for long time My parents bother that from my room smells of heated hardware. I opened even the window. No way. With my "OLD NAVY, I also got such thing, but a lot more supportable. Maybe thats from my northbridge or southbridge, though pc probe 2 gives 39C on load
Just put the fan in the duct blowing out and it will be fine. It doesn't need to be made difficult.
jph1589 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-06, 02:09 PM   #20
darkcow
Member

 
darkcow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by delta107
Don't have as5. Anyway, but it smells.I can't leave the comp open for long time My parents bother that from my room smells of heated hardware. I opened even the window. No way. With my "OLD NAVY, I also got such thing, but a lot more supportable. Maybe thats from my northbridge or southbridge, though pc probe 2 gives 39C on load

go get some. its barely 10 bucks. its well worth it and will last you a life time.

__________________
EVGA 780i - P08 [ FSB:1.4v SPP:1.5v MCP:1.65v SPP<>MCP:1.4v ]
Q6600 G0 L747A [ 400x9:3.6ghz @ 1.43v - 445x9:4.0Ghz @ 1.55v ]
xFx GTX260 216 Black Edition [ GPU:740Mhz Shader:1515 Ram:1215Mhz ]
2x 1 GB - 2x 2 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2-800 4-4-4-12 [ 990Mhz ]
Win 7 Build 7600 - Arch Linux

Apogee GTZ - MCW60-R - 2xMCR320 - MCP655 - MasterKleer 7/16
7x yate loons - 2x Arctic fan 8

All in my wooden case
darkcow is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?