Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Bandwidth Limiting question.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-06, 12:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
Bandwidth Limiting question.


ui understand there is software I can install into a smoothwall etc. but I have a router. D-Link WBR-2310. Is there anyway tpo limit bandwidth on this router ?
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-06, 12:27 PM   #2
amazon10x
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Park, MD

 
I don't believe it's possible at the router level but NetLimiter (30-day trial www.netlimiter.com) will do it per PC.
amazon10x is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-06, 01:02 PM Thread Starter   #3
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
that sucks, dont have access to the PC i wanna limit,
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-06, 09:01 AM   #4
Bios24
Member

 
Bios24's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
There is no way to limit bandwidth with a convensional router such as your D-link. (Although I do believe some consumer routers have this option... Linksys maybe) You'll either have to limit the bandwidth on the PC itself or set up a smoothwall type router.

__________________
Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
[ HEATWARE ]
Bios24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-06, 09:39 AM   #5
ErikD
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bios24
There is no way to limit bandwidth with a convensional router such as your D-link. (Although I do believe some consumer routers have this option... Linksys maybe) You'll either have to limit the bandwidth on the PC itself or set up a smoothwall type router.
I believe that the Linksys routers with hacked firmware will support this to an extent. I heard netlimiter works well, but you need access to the computer and also some way to make sure somebody won't mess with whatever settings you put in. I think for the price Smoothwall will give the best results.
ErikD is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?