Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

e6400 OC by GTac01

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-06, 03:04 PM Thread Starter   #1
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
e6400 OC by GTac01


First of all, system specs:

e6400, PQI 2x1gb at 4 4 4 12 400mhz, 7800gtx, P5B Deluxe WiFi ed.

Ive got stock cooling on the cpu but i have a duct on it with another fan right on top of it, TAT shows 52c idle, 70c under its stress test. The video card has an aftermarket zalman coller on it that keeps it at 47c idle, 65c under load.

My volts are 1.416 (cpu-z) for cpu. 1.3v for memory (bios).

My goal is to have a decent gaming pc. The most ive been able to get the cpu is 3140mhz stable, and video card 475/1.3 isnt even stable lol . As you can see they both suck in comparison to other people's 3.6ghz and 525/1.5 on air.

What am i doing wrong?
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 03:50 PM Thread Starter   #2
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
wow im extremely ****ed i got a 5,678 3DMark05 score... cpu score 10795
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 03:54 PM   #3
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
Ok there is somthing for sure wrong with that 05 score , I mean I score 6939 in 05 and thats with a x800pro .
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 03:58 PM Thread Starter   #4
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
well does resolution etc matter? i used 1360 x 768 (32in lcd). 4 sample AA, Anistropic x16 . everything maxed out. does that affect the score?
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:02 PM   #5
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
Yea it does matter , Did you buy 05 or do you use the free version ?
When running bench marks you want all that turned off , and every thing on proformence vs quality
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:09 PM   #6
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
you really need to get your temps in check. the stock cooler, duct or not, is not cutting it.

i idle around 50c and load around 63c with the settings in my sig and a scythe ninja.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:18 PM Thread Starter   #7
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
I redid it on everything on performance, 1024x768 etc and i got a 8483 . Still expected to do way better... How can i get into the 10k range?
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:19 PM Thread Starter   #8
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX
you really need to get your temps in check. the stock cooler, duct or not, is not cutting it.

i idle around 50c and load around 63c with the settings in my sig and a scythe ninja.
Well all my components are pretty much better than yours except for the ram, so do you think the ram is being my bottleneck?
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:25 PM   #9
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTac02
First of all, system specs:


My volts are 1.416 (cpu-z) for cpu. 1.3v for memory (bios).
Is that when you are @ stock ? isnt stock 1.25-1.3 ?
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:30 PM Thread Starter   #10
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console||
Is that when you are @ stock ? isnt stock 1.25-1.3 ?
no, running at 3.2ghz which is barely stable for my system...

Btw, i just looked at the top 3DMark05 cpu scores for the OC team and the highest i saw was a 11000, mine is consistent 10800 . What do you guys with e6400's get?
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:38 PM   #11
enz660
Member

 
enz660's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canton, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTac02
I redid it on everything on performance, 1024x768 etc and i got a 8483 . Still expected to do way better... How can i get into the 10k range?
1. FIX YOUR TEMPS!!! 70c is WAY too hot dude...
2. That score is about right, I get something around there with my oc'ed 7800gt + when my cpu is at 3.6ghz.


but yeah, you are burning your cpu with that stock cooler, fix that asap. Ducts & fans wont help.
enz660 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 04:41 PM   #12
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTac02
Well all my components are pretty much better than yours except for the ram, so do you think the ram is being my bottleneck?
did you read my post? your bottleneck is your COOLING.

your components being better than mine has nothing to do with anything. the only thing i see that is clearly better than what i've got is your video card. as it stands right now, my cpu is kicking the turds out of yours, because i am cooling it properly.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 05:10 PM Thread Starter   #13
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX
did you read my post? your bottleneck is your COOLING.

your components being better than mine has nothing to do with anything. the only thing i see that is clearly better than what i've got is your video card. as it stands right now, my cpu is kicking the turds out of yours, because i am cooling it properly.
Na i dont think its the cooling... but ill give the tuniq a try.. my cpu score is 10800 what is yours?
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 05:13 PM   #14
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTac02
Na i dont think its the cooling... but ill give the tuniq a try.. my cpu score is 10800 what is yours?
11404 with settings in sig. http://service.futuremark.com/orb/pr...jectId=2220838

i've run it at 3600mhz, but i don't have a compare link for that one, and i forget the cpu score.

can you explain why you don't think your cooling is getting in the way of clocking higher? you are getting full load temps of 70c at 3.1ghz, i am getting full load temps of 63c at 3500mhz. if you don't think that the stock cooling is holding you back, please post some scores at 3500mhz.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 05:28 PM Thread Starter   #15
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX
11404 with settings in sig. http://service.futuremark.com/orb/pr...jectId=2220838

i've run it at 3600mhz, but i don't have a compare link for that one, and i forget the cpu score.

can you explain why you don't think your cooling is getting in the way of clocking higher? you are getting full load temps of 70c at 3.1ghz, i am getting full load temps of 63c at 3500mhz. if you don't think that the stock cooling is holding you back, please post some scores at 3500mhz.

Ok i will explain... Im running an e6400 at 3.2ghz and im getting 24 points less than you running at 3.5ghz regarless of temperature. My temps are hotter but its not the reason im getting 8448 3dmarks. My cpu/ram is fine, my bottleneck is my OC on the actual video card..
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 05:32 PM   #16
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTac02
Im running an e6400 at 3.2ghz and im getting 24 points less than you running at 3.5ghz regarless of temperature.
10800 + 24 = 11404?

in your first post, you said something about your cpu speed not being close to the 3.6ghz that you see others with. well, i was pointing out that the reason for this, is...dun dun dun....YOUR COOLING!

of course overclocking your video some more will get you more points. i thought you were interested in increasing your cpu speed. my mistake, sorry about that, i'll stop offering my help now.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 08:24 PM Thread Starter   #17
GTac02
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

10 Year Badge
 
k at least i got past the 9000 mark with new drivers and some more overclocking + seating of the heatsink..
GTac02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 09:39 PM   #18
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
HBB's score is near yours and he has an x800pro Get a better cooler, that's all there is to it. If you already have a Tuniq Tower use it! If not I wouldn't bother pushing the edge until you do have it or anything else better than stock.

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-06, 09:49 PM   #19
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Dude cooling man. Before OCing anymore get better cooling.

These chips yes can take the heat but they aren't designed for high temps. Your right on the edge for thermal throttling. Try to get into the low 60's at least under load if not 50's.

I'll agree with HBB, whats holding you back is your CPU cooling. You might disagree since your scores up there but either way we look at it everyone will point out get better cooling or drop your CPU clock til you do so. Not only will it save the life on the CPU, but might increase clocks for that voltage.

Edit: As well I see your probably giving it 1.475V+ (CPU-Z tends to read .05V less then what your giving in the bios) tahts extremly high for such a clock. As well most don't get 3.6Ghz. Few do, expecially on air because temps tend to push them back slightly.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-06, 02:59 AM   #20
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Stock cooling.. Hahahahaha!

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?