Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

CD2 owners, If you had a chance to start over...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-06, 10:01 AM Thread Starter   #1
Sniper.nkc
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Palmdale CA

 
C2D owners, If you had a chance to start over...


C2D owners, If you had a chance to start over...

Based on your experience with the purchase of your C2D, ram, cooling, and motherboard, are you happy with your set-up or would you have purchase something different.

__________________
CPU: AMD 1090T Black EditionThuban
Cooler: Corsair H50 Hydro Series (push/pull)
MB: Asus Crosshair IV Formula 890FX
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 60 Gb
HD: 2 x WD Caviar Blue (Raid 0)
Mem: OCZ Gold series DDR3-1600
GPU: Sapphire HD 6970 in CrossfireX
PS: Corsair HX1000W Modular
Case: AZZA Solano 1000

Last edited by Sniper.nkc; 12-19-06 at 07:52 AM.
Sniper.nkc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 10:06 AM   #2
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
i built this after i killed 2 amd boards withing 2 hours of each other, i had like 0 extra money at the time.. but if i couldve, for sure i wouldve gotten ddr800 ram, and at least a 6400, tho a 6600 wouldve been nice. i gotta say this is by far the fastest rig ive ever had, so im still pretty happy

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ 4307MHz 1.375v/Corsair H100
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 179/3230/3589
3x2GB STT Chrome @ 897MHz 7-7-7-21 1T 1.65v
Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1000 1.1v
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is online now Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 10:09 AM   #3
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
this is the best setup I ever owned and its far less buggy then NF3/NF4/AM2 as far as settings and OC, much stabler, much less needless fine tuning.

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 10:19 AM   #4
DJCorpse
Member

 
DJCorpse's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Fargo, ND

 
I am content with everything (even my 6300) except for the ram I have. I should have done more homework in October and got some stuff with Micron d9's but oh well, you live and learn! Otherwise the first Intel rig that I built myself has been great, very happy with it.

__________________
EVGA X58 SLI LE
Intel Core i7 930 @ 4022 MHz
Noctua NH-U12P SE2
G.SKILL Ripjaws 3x2GB DDR3 1600
XFX Radeon HD 5870 1GB
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.0 GB/s SATA
Corsair TX750W
DJCorpse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 10:24 AM   #5
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
I'm happy with both of my setups though if I had it to do again I would reconsider the DS3 (due to ide problems) though I would not exclude it. I would go with the e6400 rather than the e6300 due to the savings on ram and better potential for slightly better performance.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 10:27 AM   #6
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
If I had to do over again I should of just went with what I have now and not gone crazy and bought 2 other CPU's and an accidental another

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 10:29 AM   #7
jimmsch
Member



Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

 
I am brand new to OCing, but as far as I am concerned this C2D chip is awesome!! I can run it at 3.0ghz using 2.6v in BIOS vcore and it is stable. The system runs at 36C idle and 44C in orthos and 49C using TAT. All temps recorded with fans running in silent mode.
I had it stable @3.2 but I had to set my RAM to DDR2400 and the temps were a bit high for my liking (I am a chickensh**). They idled @ 39C and under stress rose to 53C.
I also ran it @ 2.7 for a while using 1.325 (37C idle and up to 53C load) vcore and realized I can lower the vcore to lower temps and it will do the 3.0!
The only thing that bugs me is I can't seem to use my RAM to its fullest. I have to set it at DDR2600 with 4-4-4-10 timings (the RAM is supposed to be 5-5-5-12) to pass orthos, although it passes TAT @ DDR2800 and 4-4-4-10. If anybody knows how to get it to pass orthos @ DDR2800 please let me know. I have the voltage set to 2.1 in BIOS.
My only regret is not getting the Tuniq Tower, but I like the look of the Zalman and it seems to be cool enough.

__________________
Main Rig - i5 2500K 37x (turbo)...2x2gb Corsair DDR3-1600...AsRock H77M...Corsair HX620...Hanns-G 19" LCD...1 x 80GB Intel SSD...2 x 1TB Samsung HDD...Zalman CNPS9700...Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Windowed...Win 7 Ult x86
HTPC - AMD A6 3650 under volted...2x2gb Crucial DDR3 1600...Gigabyte GA A75M D2H...Seasonic 300W PSU...Samsung 64GB SSD...Silverstone MLO3B HTPC Case...LG 55" 6700 series 3D LED LCD...Onkyo HT Receiver...Onkyo 5.1 speakers and sub...Win 7 Ult x86
jimmsch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 12:36 PM   #8
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I love everybit of my new computer. The motherboard is very solid and user friendly. The DDR 667 ram will do 3-3-3 at 800. Although I don't have a bum processor I really wish I could hit 4Ghz. I like the graphics card although if I'd waited another month I could have gotten a 8800GTS for $50 more, atleast it's purty.
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 12:42 PM   #9
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
I'm happy with my setup but If I could do it again I'd switch to a Gigabyte S3 and use the extra $$ to get a E6400, over the E6300 I have.

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 01:20 PM   #10
dkizzy
Premium Member #15






Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA

 
Initially I thought I would completely regret getting my supertalent memory but after finally figuring out the "sweet spot" with it, I'm running 4-4-4-8 on 2.15v. Its awesome in my opinion without trying to push the ram. I got one dilemma, I have gskill on the way and don't know if I should send the super back or not. I hope someone helps me decide lol. But besides that getting the Tuniq Tower was the best 65 dollar investment I have made with a cpu component. So no regrets for me! Even if I have to run a higher vcore voltage than others things are progressing.

__________________
i7 4770k @ Stock for now, Corsair 600T, H70 Cooler
16gb Crucial Ballstix Tactical Low Profile CL8 1.35v
Plextor M3 128GB SSD F/W 1.07
Samsung 830 128gb
2TB Hitachi 64mb cache
MSI GTX 770 Gaming
MSI Z87 M Power
Heatware Profile
dkizzy is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 01:40 PM   #11
Lames
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2006

 
I love my new setup!

E6400 @ 2.81GHz 1.31vcore
EVGA 680i
EVGA 8800GTX
Ballistix DDR2 PC10000 @ 4-4-4-12 @ 1.9v

Only thing that is very frustrating right now is trying to find a good aftermarket CPU cooler that I don't have to mod the backplate to fit the 680i board that I have.
Lames is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 01:44 PM   #12
Vento1

 
Vento1's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Swindon England

 
I am a little disappionted with the ram i have i can't get the rig to run 24/7 above 385mhz, maybe Santa will bring me some new ram to try in the new year and then i will be very happy.

__________________
OVERCLOCKERS.COM THE ONLY TEAM TO CRUNCH SETI FOR
Main rig
CPU QX9770 @ 4.0
MotherboardFoxconn Blackops
Memory 2gig Diablo
HD 450gig Raid 10
Graphics EVGA 9800 GX2
Cooling
Water
Benching rig
Anything i havent broken yet.
Vento1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 03:50 PM   #13
dkizzy
Premium Member #15






Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA

 
yeah i was really disappointed with my ocz memory, I am now finally really happy with my supertalent but I got gskill on the way. After some consulting on here about the supertalent and if i should keep it or keep the gskill, im going to have to either rma one of them or I guess sell them to someoone on here or something. But the advantage is I know the right specs now for the supertalent and I can talk to enough people on here to get the gskill setup correctly if I end up keeping that.

__________________
i7 4770k @ Stock for now, Corsair 600T, H70 Cooler
16gb Crucial Ballstix Tactical Low Profile CL8 1.35v
Plextor M3 128GB SSD F/W 1.07
Samsung 830 128gb
2TB Hitachi 64mb cache
MSI GTX 770 Gaming
MSI Z87 M Power
Heatware Profile
dkizzy is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 04:40 PM   #14
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
If I had a chance to redo it. I would definitely get different memory. Mine stops at 460mhz. Other than that, this system is absolutely amazing.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 05:05 PM   #15
z0n3

 
z0n3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hoosier Land

 
I would have spent the extra $50 to get an SLI or Crossfire motherboard.

__________________
In other words, look for shiny books.-Frodo Baggins
OK Oni...I've told ya about rubbing David before. Keep it private, eh?-LutaWicasa
I just caught myself putting my credit card into the DVD drive of my computer ... -ghettocomp
LOL if I was sapphire I would leave ruby on there and take her shirt off instead...-Rattle
What do you most want to accomplish with your life? Ban SilverSinkSam-cw823
Ooo. that 1 comes with a mouse!-WarriorII
last friday I got back from annual training and downloaded my duffelbags to my house.-SuperFarStucker
Thank goodness the downtime was not any longer I almost got myself a life-UnseenMenace
I live in a steel reinforced cave/bunker so unless he is on my list of bad guys to kill, I don't pay too much attention to politics.-TommyHolly
z0n3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 05:28 PM   #16
drshivas
Sith Lord

 
drshivas's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maryland, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I would have gotten better cooling for the C2D in my sig. I'm concerned about my load temps come summer. They are a little high with my arctic freezer pro 7 - high 50s- low 60s. I even lapped the IHS and the HS block.
drshivas is online now Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 05:50 PM   #17
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
i could not be happier with my setup... i have had 0 problems... i love my e6600... she does 4ghz , my ram is AMAZING... does 1100mhz @ 2.4v @ stock timings (4-4-4-12) my board i really couldnt ask for more... it does 445 + fsb, has AMAZING oc options and heck the stock nb cooler is really good if you pop a lil 40mm fan on it.... i have never used the wifi on it so i can say n e thing about that.... the board layout is great and everything is in the right spots. My hd setup is AMAZING... 2 250gb perpindicular seagates on matrix raid... amazingly fast... and gfx well i ust to have a 7900gt ko 512, currently i am on a Matrox IS-STORM r2 from 1995... but tommorrow the lil brown truck of joy will be delievering me a brand spankin new 8800gts! from evga!

i wouldnt change a thing... my case MUAHAHHAHAH Lian Li V2000b is AMAZING... and everything else is great... i couldnt be happer plus its like 3 to 4 times faster than my old system and twice as fast as my friends x2 4400

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 06:17 PM   #18
Dragonprince
Member

 
Dragonprince's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT

 
I might have spent the money on the 6800, otherwise I can't think of anything I'd do different.

__________________
GA-EX38-DS4 F3 Bios, Q9650 @3.6, 5870, 8 gig OCZ DDR2 1066, Corsair 750w Power
Dragonprince is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 06:20 PM   #19
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Instead of getting e6600, I would have got e6400

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-06, 06:53 PM   #20
natewildes
Member

 
natewildes's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA

 
I feel the same as meionm, but I found someone wanting to spend lots more on a little more performance, so we're swapping .

__________________
Macbook Pro for life.
natewildes is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?