• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Buying CPU.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Metallica

Either a FX - 62 or a 5200+

The 5200+ Would save a ton of money... but im willing to spend anything atm.

I want to OC my cpu a bit, but not much, as im new to it all, and dont wanna **** it up :p

So what would be better out of those 2 ... If the FX -62 just blows away the 5200, ill get it. But if its just that extra 200MHz then **** it ...

I believe the FX has another multiplyer?(Not sure what that is, i know it has to do with OCing, and the FX i think 1 more ... (13).

I am new to this stuff, so a little feedback would be nice.

If your willing to spend anything....I would definitely go with a core 2 duo like an e6600 for around 300 bucks. The architecture of the C2D's make them much faster than the athlon 64's and such.

An E6600 will also oc much farther than an fx-62 will and be more powerful clock for clock.

Just ask other people on this forum, the Core 2's are awesome :)

blitzkrieg1110 said:
If your willing to spend anything....I would definitely go with a core 2 duo like an e6600 for around 300 bucks. The architecture of the C2D's make them much faster than the athlon 64's and such.

An E6600 will also oc much farther than an fx-62 will and be more powerful clock for clock.

Just ask other people on this forum, the Core 2's are awesome :)

Hmm ... I might look into them ... What is with opterons?

If you are not concerned about overclocking, which by the sounds of things you are not, get the 5200+ over the FX62. The FX series have unlocked multipliers and more cache, meaning you can clock them higher, but at almost double the price.

As far as AMD vs. Intel, again get whatever you want. You will be happy with a 5200+ or an e6600.

What do you intend to do with the computer?

Martel said: