Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Which Mounting on MCW60 with X1950xtx

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-07, 07:35 PM Thread Starter   #1
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
Which Mounting on MCW60 with X1950xtx


Is it the 4 hole type or the two hole. I can't tell from the directions.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-07, 07:38 PM   #2
speed bump
Member

 
speed bump's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montana tech Butte mt.

 
4 hole.

On the X1x00 series ATI went to a four hole mounting pattern.

__________________
Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
My heatware

Silence may be golden but performance is platinum
speed bump is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-07, 07:40 PM Thread Starter   #3
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
they really should update there directions, I hade the 4 hole plate off and was like this doesn't look right
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-07, 11:43 PM   #4
natewildes
Member

 
natewildes's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecca112
they really should update there directions, I hade the 4 hole plate off and was like this doesn't look right

what? that would cost money! palease, don't make unrealistic demands

__________________
Macbook Pro for life.
natewildes is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 12:11 AM   #5
downer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PA

 
the mcw60 can be a bitch to mount, good directions or not.

__________________
Heat
downer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 12:15 AM   #6
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by downer
the mcw60 can be a bitch to mount, good directions or not.
Wow

It is really hard.........not


__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 12:23 AM   #7
downer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PA

 
It's definitely not as easy to mount as a Maze block. When mounting the MCW60 on my 6800 I had to do a balancing act with the card and block to get the screws started. BTW, your sarcasm needs work.

__________________
Heat
downer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 07:18 AM   #8
MVC

 
MVC's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hell's Kitchen, NYC

 
Meionm, that pic is with the G80 plate. With the standard plate it's a bit more difficult. In order to fit the block on my X1950XT I had to grind the "legs" down a bit because they were too tall and the block didn't contact the chip.
Attached Images
 
MVC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 11:46 AM Thread Starter   #9
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
luckily I didn't have an issue it fits fine, checked the spread of the Ceramique and it worked great. Only issue I have is getting the damn Memory coolers to stick. I'm thinking about just reattaching the piece of copper that was orignally on the block if it'll fit.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 12:12 PM   #10
Vaio

 
Vaio's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: St. Clair Shores,Mi.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MVC
Meionm, that pic is with the G80 plate. With the standard plate it's a bit more difficult. In order to fit the block on my X1950XT I had to grind the "legs" down a bit because they were too tall and the block didn't contact the chip.
Actually, it could just be an older image. I have an original MCW60. and it mounts to the card in the same way shown in meionm's picture

__________________
Desktop ( HAL9000 ) - Server ( WOPR )
Core i7-3960X - C2Q Q9550
Asus Sabertooth X79 - Asus P5E Deluxe X48
4x4Gb G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-2133 - 4x2Gb OCZ Platinum DDR2-1066
XFX HD7970 - Sapphire 4870x2
2x120Gb Mushkin Chronos (RAID 0) - 2x160gb WD Raptor (RAID 0)
Corsair H100 - Corsair H60
Corsair AX1200 - Corsair TX750
Corsair 650D - Customized old Industrial Server Case

Project Flaming Silverstone
HEAT
Vaio is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 02:23 PM Thread Starter   #11
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
yeah my directions don't have that. The one I used to have mounted like that
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-07, 08:54 PM   #12
downer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MVC
Meionm, that pic is with the G80 plate. With the standard plate it's a bit more difficult. In order to fit the block on my X1950XT I had to grind the "legs" down a bit because they were too tall and the block didn't contact the chip.
My MCW60 mounted like MVC showed. Overall I do like the block, free flowing and good craftsmanship. I just wish it mounted a little easier.

__________________
Heat
downer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-07, 10:54 AM   #13
ctrl_alt_del_
Member

 
ctrl_alt_del_'s Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Clermont, Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by downer
the mcw60 can be a bitch to mount, good directions or not.

I thought the MCW60 was the easiest VGA block to install I have ever used...

__________________

i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz
ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
16gb G.Skill PC312800 9-9-9-24
HD6970 @ 900/1425 Crossfire
DELL 2407WFP
Win 7 Pro 64
Cooler Master ATCS840
Full Water

DELL 15Z
i5 2640M - 8GB - 525M
ctrl_alt_del_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-07, 11:25 AM   #14
downer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PA

 
your vga card is different than mine, so maybe the install was different. I had to mount my block like MVC's picture shows in post #8, and it can be hard to hold the block on the card while trying to tighten the screws down on the back.

I had a Maze gpu block on my 9800 pro before, and it was much easier to mount than the MCW60.

__________________
Heat
downer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-07, 11:42 AM   #15
Immortal_Hero
Member

 
Immortal_Hero's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Yea MCW = PITA to mount. If I ever go back to water cooling I will get a block that has screws that to through the card and nuts that go on the back, like a Maze 4.

__________________
][mmortal ]-[ero
Heatware
Immortal_Hero is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?