Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

Simple switch for fan

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-07, 05:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
RIPSTER
Member

 
RIPSTER's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: England

 
Simple switch for fan


Im going to be installing an additional 60mm fan in the side of my Xbox to aid HDD cooling, Im wondering is it possible to rig some kind of switch to allow control of the fan, ill only be needing the fan when running Hard drive intensive apps, games etc. I dont want to have to buy a whole fan controller for such a simple thing.

Im wondering wether I could use the inverter that came with my CC, I understand that I cant use the inverter itself but along with that comes a small rocker switch, would it be as simple as splicing the rocker switches cables in to the ground and 5v of the fans?

any help would be greatly appreciated

RIPSTER

__________________
Pentium Dual Core 3.4
2GB Corsair RAM
Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
nVidia Geforce 8600GT
Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW
RIPSTER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 08:05 AM Thread Starter   #2
RIPSTER
Member

 
RIPSTER's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: England

 
The rocker switch in the pic is the one im trying to use, could I just cut the two wires going in to the rocker switch and wire the switch up to my fan, what order should the fan/rocker/molex be set up for it to work?



thnx

__________________
Pentium Dual Core 3.4
2GB Corsair RAM
Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
nVidia Geforce 8600GT
Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW
RIPSTER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 08:19 AM Thread Starter   #3
RIPSTER
Member

 
RIPSTER's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: England

 
will this setup work -


__________________
Pentium Dual Core 3.4
2GB Corsair RAM
Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
nVidia Geforce 8600GT
Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW
RIPSTER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 08:45 AM   #4
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
^^NO, that will make a short.

Just put the switch in one of the lines.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware

Last edited by bchur83; 01-24-07 at 08:50 AM.
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 10:14 AM Thread Starter   #5
RIPSTER
Member

 
RIPSTER's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: England

 
tyvm

__________________
Pentium Dual Core 3.4
2GB Corsair RAM
Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
nVidia Geforce 8600GT
Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW
RIPSTER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 03:05 PM   #6
sephiroth_749
Top ranking SOLDIER officer

 
sephiroth_749's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Park Hills, Missouri

 
dont mean to thread jack but could you hook up one swtich to turn off 4 fans at once similar to that setup

__________________
The Hindenburg
Athlon 64 3800+
A8N SLI Deluxe
2x512 OCZ Gold PC3200
WD 160gb
eVGA 7900GT
Sound Blaster 24 Bit
Sunbeam 550W

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=52575
sephiroth_749 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 03:20 PM   #7
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
Yep, just splice 3 more wires off the red line after the switch on the fan side, but make sure you have a switch that is rated for high enough current that you are puting on it.

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 03:24 PM   #8
sephiroth_749
Top ranking SOLDIER officer

 
sephiroth_749's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Park Hills, Missouri

 
can you give me a diagram of how that is done and what kind of rating would the switch need

__________________
The Hindenburg
Athlon 64 3800+
A8N SLI Deluxe
2x512 OCZ Gold PC3200
WD 160gb
eVGA 7900GT
Sound Blaster 24 Bit
Sunbeam 550W

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=52575
sephiroth_749 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 04:31 PM   #9
Knacko
Member

 
Knacko's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Not here

 
Just like this:



As for rating, add the amperage from each fan to give the rating needed on the switch.

__________________
[Gigabyte DS3 MB]
[
Intel e6420 @ 3.52GHz]
[
2GB Mushkin XP2-8500]
[
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 711/1037]
[
WD 36GB Raptor]
[
Seagate 7200.10 320GB x 2]
[
Corsair HX-520 PSU]
[
Mounted inside a bookcase
]
Knacko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-07, 04:36 PM   #10
sephiroth_749
Top ranking SOLDIER officer

 
sephiroth_749's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Park Hills, Missouri

 
k thanks and sorry about thread jacking

__________________
The Hindenburg
Athlon 64 3800+
A8N SLI Deluxe
2x512 OCZ Gold PC3200
WD 160gb
eVGA 7900GT
Sound Blaster 24 Bit
Sunbeam 550W

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=52575
sephiroth_749 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-07, 02:28 PM Thread Starter   #11
RIPSTER
Member

 
RIPSTER's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: England

 
np

__________________
Pentium Dual Core 3.4
2GB Corsair RAM
Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
nVidia Geforce 8600GT
Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW
RIPSTER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-07, 10:35 PM   #12
Borisw37
Member

 
Borisw37's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knacko
Just like this:



As for rating, add the amperage from each fan to give the rating needed on the switch.
To follow good electrical guidelines you should put the switch in the Power wire (red), not the ground.

And unless you are going to be running HUGE fans, just about any toggle switch will do.
Borisw37 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?