• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

laptop cpu?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hunter1895

Registered
i just got a lap top given to me that doesnt work . you power it up and the hard drive starts but screen stays black no beeps nothin. anyway i cracked it open to see what it had for a cpu and got these codes off the core fv80503166 and next it had sl27a/2.45v and c7290292-0129 then at the bottom 92.95 any one got a clue as to what type and how much megahertz it has . it says pentium w/ mmx also my guess is its a 166mhz? but im new to this pentuim biz . amd all the way any info would be great thanks in advance.

Black Screen ?

Seems like a bios corruption maybe.

Reset the bios wait 15-30 mins and see what you can do.

That is what happens to me I had the FSB too high it would only show my video card stuff and then stay there.

its a sharp pc 9340t. how do i reset the bios in a lap top it doesnt come apart easy wow what a job i wanted to smash it. by the way you talkin to a newbee :D so be tolerant please.

I think the first mmx cpu from intel was the 233, and from what you posted I would asume that the "s-spec" is an SL27a...and if you look on intel's w.s. you should find out what that chip is.
I would think it is a 233 or 266
And if all you get is the hdd spinning up and you do not hear the actuators (heads) making noise, then it is most likely the cpu.
Somebody could have tried clocking it, and fried it.
I did it with a AMD K6-2 333 by flipping the wrong switch on my CTX EZBOOK 700E....I overvolted it, and when I tried to bootup, all I heard was the hdd spinning but the heads weren't making any noise, and put the old K6 233 back, and it ran fine. It now has another 333, but it is underclocked to 300.