Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Memtest86 Problems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-07, 09:46 AM Thread Starter   #1
TechtonicPC
Member, formerly Surfrat

 
TechtonicPC's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida

 
Memtest86 Problems


Here is what I am doing:

Load memtest, hit C, 1, 3, 5, 0 to run test number 5.

Now no matter what I do with ram timings or different sticks of ram, test 5 will never finish. It dosn't error, it just freezes. The two percentages on the top right of the screen that say pass and test will be running together, and all of the sudden the Test number will go to like 5500% or something and it just freezes.

This happens with every set of ram I stick in here with my current mobo settings. For example:

I am currently using a 2gb set of Team Group DDR2 667 CL=3-3-3-8. I have my FSB set to 400 and the memory clocked at an even 800mhz. I have lossened the timings allthe way to 5-4-4-15 and by spd and neither makes a difference. Run memtest same results.

any ideas?

__________________
COOLING: Lamptron Touch, XSPC RX360, Swiftech MCP655, Lund Reservoir, Koolance 370

http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/85tlfw-4.png
TechtonicPC is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-07, 03:25 PM   #2
Yellowbeard XMS
Official Corsair Tech Support

 
Yellowbeard XMS's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004

 
Have you disabled Legacy USB Support?
Yellowbeard XMS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-07, 04:27 PM Thread Starter   #3
TechtonicPC
Member, formerly Surfrat

 
TechtonicPC's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida

 
no it was set to auto.

__________________
COOLING: Lamptron Touch, XSPC RX360, Swiftech MCP655, Lund Reservoir, Koolance 370

http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/85tlfw-4.png
TechtonicPC is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-07, 04:31 PM   #4
Yellowbeard XMS
Official Corsair Tech Support

 
Yellowbeard XMS's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004

 
There is a conflict with USB Legacy Support when running Memtest on ASUS MOBOs. You have to disable it to run this program properly.
Yellowbeard XMS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-07, 04:35 PM Thread Starter   #5
TechtonicPC
Member, formerly Surfrat

 
TechtonicPC's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida

 
I disabled it, problem is my keyboard is USB so I have no idea if it makes a difference, cause I can not change the test number to 5.

__________________
COOLING: Lamptron Touch, XSPC RX360, Swiftech MCP655, Lund Reservoir, Koolance 370

http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/85tlfw-4.png
TechtonicPC is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?