• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

good mainboard for new computer?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

srwven

I am a newbie and looking to build a new computer. I don't think I am going to overclock it, maybe later. It will be used for surfing and a little gaming (not enough time for serious gaming:-( ). I was thinking of a 1Gig AMD Tbird. My question is what would be a good mainboard that would allow overclocking later- the ECS K7S5a vs. the Abit KT7a? As I said I will be playing a few games, would a Gforce MX400 be sufficient for a video card? Thanks

srwven said:
I am a newbie and looking to build a new computer. I don't think I am going to overclock it, maybe later. It will be used for surfing and a little gaming (not enough time for serious gaming:-( ). I was thinking of a 1Gig AMD Tbird. My question is what would be a good mainboard that would allow overclocking later- the ECS K7S5a vs. the Abit KT7a? As I said I will be playing a few games, would a Gforce MX400 be sufficient for a video card? Thanks

If you want to overclock in the future go will the KT7A for sure. The SoftMenu has vcore, multiplier, FSb, FSB+, etc.... The K7S5A is a stable board, but lacks in the o/c options. You have to download a new bios even to get the FSB over 133. I think the 1 gig T-bird will do well. Just be sure to get a good stepping!:)

Welcome to the Forums!

myself being a newbie (still waiting for my heatsink and vid card) have not built my first system, however i would recomend an Epox board. either the EP-8K7A or the Ep-8K7A+. the plus being the raid version. I have the plus and it looks awesome...wish i could test it out but o well... good luck with ur first system! hope it :burn: !