Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Can I pad mod D960 CPU from 800FSB?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-07, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Derek8819
Member

 
Derek8819's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
Can I pad mod D960 CPU from 800FSB?


Can it be done guys? I have a stock dell motherboard, I changed out the cpu from the D815 to a D960, but would like to pad mod it for a few more mhz? Can it be done?
Derek8819 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-07, 08:25 AM   #2
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
yes it can.. but
you would need the CPU to be able to boot at VID vcore for the clock (a pad mod can increase the VID vcore if needed), the mobo would need to support a higher FSB then 800 and the PSU would need to be able to handle the overclocked CPU.

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-07, 04:59 PM   #3
jmsandrsn
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Xenia OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
yes it can.. but
you would need the CPU to be able to boot at VID vcore for the clock (a pad mod can increase the VID vcore if needed), the mobo would need to support a higher FSB then 800 and the PSU would need to be able to handle the overclocked CPU.
Also, the CPU would have to be capable of running at 4.8GHz which I doubt that this is going to happen with stock cooling in a Dell (or any system with air cooling for that matter). Your best bet would be to try a PentiumD 925 3.0GHz. If you try anything higher you might end up booting into OS but I doubt that you would be stable. There is a special way you have to do BSEL mod for it to work with Cedar Mill and Presler so PM me if you need details.

__________________
Heatware Refs
jmsandrsn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 12:01 AM Thread Starter   #4
Derek8819
Member

 
Derek8819's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
Well the dell is a BTX box, I know it will be cool with the huge hsf on it. also the 960 I am using is an experimental model that has a variable multiplier, but the dell bios wont let me do anything with it, but the SST works. Anyway, I am up for give it a try seeing if it will boot, what pads do I need to connect? if it doesnt work I can just take the conductive pen tracing off right?
Derek8819 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 09:30 AM   #5
jmsandrsn
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Xenia OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek8819
Well the dell is a BTX box, I know it will be cool with the huge hsf on it. also the 960 I am using is an experimental model that has a variable multiplier, but the dell bios wont let me do anything with it, but the SST works. Anyway, I am up for give it a try seeing if it will boot, what pads do I need to connect? if it doesnt work I can just take the conductive pen tracing off right?
I wasn't trying to say the cooling in that system isn't good (I know from experience that it is) but 4.8GHz is a bit much to expect.

Refer to the picture below. Someone who has never pin modded a Preser/CedearMill will probably chime in and tell you to it differently but if you want it to have a chance of working you'll need to do it as explained. Insulate BSEL1 which is the red pin (very small piece of scotch tape will work). Then you need to run a trace of silver paint from the BSEL2 (the yellow pin) to BSEL1 (it will be on top of the tape). Make sure that you cover the red dot pretty well with the paint and also pay special attention to the gap (caused by the tape) because it's hard to get a good trace over the gap.


__________________
Heatware Refs
jmsandrsn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 10:26 AM   #6
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
The VID portion of your mod changes depending on the stock VID of the CPU.

And what VID was that mod for?

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 11:24 AM   #7
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
I would say that the MOSFETS probably wont be able to handle the current...So its a little risky...

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 04:33 PM   #8
jmsandrsn
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Xenia OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
The VID portion of your mod changes depending on the stock VID of the CPU.

And what VID was that mod for?
FYI...You can find the VID of your CPU with RightMark.

__________________
Heatware Refs
jmsandrsn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 04:52 PM   #9
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
yes.. but that changes the VID padmod

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 07:25 PM   #10
jmsandrsn
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Xenia OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
yes.. but that changes the VID padmod
I didn't even mention a VID mod so I'm not sure what you're trying to say. I realize that the VID connections (or insulations) needed to set a new voltage depend on what the starting voltage happens to be.

From that picture above, the three BSEL pins are in the bottom right corner. The six VID pins are up in the top left corner. The VID pins are simply highlighted in bright colors to show where they're located (wasn't trying to say that the VID pins should be connected or anything).

__________________
Heatware Refs

Last edited by jmsandrsn; 02-10-07 at 07:33 PM.
jmsandrsn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 11:10 PM Thread Starter   #11
Derek8819
Member

 
Derek8819's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
jsmandrsm, just to clarify, doing this mod will net me 1066FSB correct? I am not at my computer right now, I am in new orleans, but I think the ES chip multi varies from 11x to 16x does that sound right?
Derek8819 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-07, 11:45 PM   #12
jmsandrsn
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Xenia OH

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, that's right. That will get you to 1066 FSB. You'll be lucky if it even boots at that high of a speed though.

__________________
Heatware Refs
jmsandrsn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-07, 11:00 PM Thread Starter   #13
Derek8819
Member

 
Derek8819's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
hmmm.......ok, I guess i can give it a shot. like ps2cho said, would that be an issue at those speeds?
Derek8819 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-07, 11:01 PM Thread Starter   #14
Derek8819
Member

 
Derek8819's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
hmmm.......ok, I guess i can give it a shot. like ps2cho said, would that be an issue at those speeds?
Derek8819 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?