• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Just starting SETI@ home

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kyleslater

I've never done this type of thing before but a buddy introduced me to in and I kindof like overclocking so I figured I'd join this team.. I currently only have two machines running on it..

X6800 @ 3.5 with 1360 FSB and a T5600 Laptop stock speeds. How much they can do in a day I have no clue.

I'm much better with the overclocking then with the cruching... Also... How soon can we expect a 64 bit version of this and or a version that supports my 8800 GTX as a processor?

BTW I hope you don't mind me using your special avatars... Last I checked it had me @ 57's place. so top 75 should be close enough :D

First of all welcome to the team Kyleslater! :welcome:

I don't have any c2d CPU-s, but from looking at other computers I think your x6800 could pull off atleast 1500credits/day. Not sure about the laptop tough.

For the 64bit version, source code is open so anybody can compile it to use 64bits, there were some attempts but it didn't bring much if any performance boost. Seti uses FPU alot and it simply doesn't benefit from going to 64bits.
As for the 8800, client for it is in development AFAIK. But we don't know yet when it will be released.
Once again welcome to the team, if you have any other questions feel free to ask them. :)

I did follow the opptimization guide and installed the sse3 optimizations. I'm not a programer. And I'm not sure how to tell how many units got processed in a day. No wait...

According to the "statistics" I processed 600 yesterday. And 600 the day before. But that does not count "pending" stuff Or the fact that I rebuilt Vista the first day and spent half the day playing with flight sim . Most of the trouble I have had is due to lack of communication.