• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water block flow question and thread question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ahbroody

Okay,
I am a noob and I admit this. Any way. Some may remember I am the one who posted the under 60.00 water kit thread.
Okay I was looking at all the waterbocks and trying to understand the flow issue and restrictions and I have a few questions.

this is the block that came with the kit.
P1010694.jpg
Now I know this isnt a good block but how bad is it?

Edit the barbs in the pic are the stock 1/4 barbs the new barbs are similar to these
http://www.svc.com/cl-w0047.html

Also I increased the kit from 1/4 to 3/8 using a dremel and some 3/8 tubing obtained for 5.00 :) and some old thermal take 3/8's fittings apparently CM and TT used the same thread size for their fittings. However my question now is based on the fittings I am using is this combined with the cheap block worse than the 1/4?
Also does anyone know what the thread diameter is I know its not standard as the apoge barbs wont thread in?

Right now depending on temps in house I idle between 36-39 and load can go as high as 48-49 in orthos. On an e6400 with clocked at 3.0 stock voltage.

Please no flame, I know its a cheap kit I am trying to play with it for FUN and to see how much I can squezze out of it before going to a serious setup.

Sorry if my questions dont make sense I am still trying to understand the finer points of WC.

Thanks
Ahbroody

Personally I prefer 1/2" tubing for more flow.

The first thing I see from that block is the water doesnt enter on the center where the heat is higher. Not a huge flaw but you get better cooling when the water enters in the center.