Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

How do i turn off DEP?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-07, 11:27 PM Thread Starter   #1
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
Arrow How do i turn off DEP?


How do i turn off DEP (Data Execution Prevention) in XP Pro SP2? its conflicting with so many of my programs and its getting annoying

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-07, 11:29 PM   #2
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-07, 11:30 PM   #3
jcw122

 
jcw122's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA

 
Good question...

EDIT: wow fast post lol

__________________
"YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
Folding for Team 32!
Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
R.I.P. Project: Humidity
Heatware
jcw122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-07, 11:32 PM Thread Starter   #4
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r
thx but it was still active i found this one that completely removes it now i don't get that warning explorer.exe blah blah error every time i access media player

http://www.housing.hawaii.edu/resour...urnoff-dep.htm

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-07, 11:32 PM   #5
Fr3@k3r
Member

 
Fr3@k3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)

 
np i have no life LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by mista ting
thx but it was still on i found this one that completely removes it now i don't get that warning explorer.exe blah blah error every time i access media player

http://www.housing.hawaii.edu/resour...urnoff-dep.htm
thats fully off.. i wouldnt recommend it being fully off. but thats the users oppinion.

__________________
[Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
[Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
[Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
(HEATWARE)
Fr3@k3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-07, 11:37 PM Thread Starter   #6
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
oh wow i can actually launch cs 1.6 and tfc now that its off before it just automatically exit any time i click on it, i thought it was just steam

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-07, 01:22 AM   #7
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
If I turn off DEP, everything goes bonkers and crashes to death. Steam specificly, Source majorly.

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?