Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Amd

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-01, 06:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
chaoflux
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RI

 
Amd


I replaced my case with an aluminum case. I also used a shim and artic silver paste. I have a thermo engine mini orb. the temp I was getting before the switch of the case was about 55oC. Now in my new case with two added deltas, I'm getting temp of 96oC. The Orb is getting hotter than it has ever got soooo... It seems to be seated properly... but maybe not...plz get back to me
Chaoflux
chaoflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 06:55 AM Thread Starter   #2
chaoflux
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RI

 
AMD


by the way it's a 1.4 ghz and I've used the cpu to overclock before. why is it soo hot....
chaoflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 07:03 AM   #3
JetMech
Member

 
JetMech's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Folding 24/7 in Newport News, Va. Since Sept. 2001

 
Shut down immediately. your max temp for 1.4 is 95c. If you have a shim on that thing take it off NOW.

__________________
Fold Smart
E6600@2.4x2
Proud member of Folding@Home Team #32--Folding 24/7
Avatar by : IMOG
"Greater love hath no man than to give up his puter(s) for science."
JetMech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 07:29 AM   #4
RedDeathDrinker
Senior Aircraftsman IRL

 
RedDeathDrinker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Scotland - And don't you forget it!

 
STOP!

How much AS did you put on?

Take off the orb and see if it had a good contact to the CPU die.....

There should be no more than a very thin skin of AS on the die. As suggested, take off any shim you may have had on it.

__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works.
How do you recognise something that is still technology?
A good clue is if it comes with a manual...
RedDeathDrinker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 09:46 AM   #5
TranceBear
Big Daddy Bear Senior

 
TranceBear's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Shims are evil!!

__________________
AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
My Heatware 100% since 2002
TranceBear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 10:06 AM   #6
rugby
King of Cats Senior

 
rugby's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chicago, IL

 
1) remove HSF and shim
2) Step on both
3) go get real HSF and no shim


__________________
G4 MDD DP867@DP1ghz

Real men overclock macs with a soldering gun.
rugby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 10:18 AM   #7
JAWS
Member



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Xtremesystems

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by rugby
1) remove HSF and shim
2) Step on both
3) go get real HSF and no shim

LOL! Crunch-Crunch-Crunch!
JAWS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 12:04 PM   #8
wizardloader
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Beach Ca.

 
Quote:
Originally posted by TranceBear
Shims are evil!!
Yup Yup remove the sucka now beofore you cook that nice cpu
wizardloader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 01:45 PM   #9
SickBoy
Inactive Moderator



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by TranceBear
Shims are evil!!
I agree. Ditch it.

__________________
Used to be awesome
Heatware
SickBoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 01:53 PM   #10
Gandalf
Member

 
Gandalf's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Near Niagara Falls, CANADA

 
What a shim?
Gandalf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 01:58 PM   #11
wizardloader
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Beach Ca.

 
Its a piece of copper or metal between the cpu and HSF
wizardloader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 03:28 PM Thread Starter   #12
chaoflux
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RI

 
thanks


thanks for the quick replies...but one thing I don't understand...
Why is the orb getting really hot. If I used too much artic silver 2 wouldn't the orb get cooler?...I don't know just a thought...

screw the shim through right?
chaoflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 03:32 PM   #13
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
What chip are you using?


edit: is this the mini orb you are using? http://www.thermaltake.com/du0462-8.htm

__________________
Hello:sn:

Last edited by Kendan; 12-07-01 at 03:35 PM.
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-07-01, 03:51 PM   #14
wizardloader
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Beach Ca.

 
Orbs well generally suck. Although I use a Dragon Orb III and its ok. Get a better one
wizardloader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-01, 07:43 AM Thread Starter   #15
chaoflux
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RI

 
AMD 1.4 (screwed)


It was an AMD 1.4....I smoked it I think....
took off the shim and replaced the ac 2 grease...now I get the dreaded black screen..
If anyone else has a 8k7a+....All I get is a blinking FF on the output display of the motherboard. It gets faster...the blinking..
I just hope it's not my mobo..plz!!!!!
chaoflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-01, 07:46 AM Thread Starter   #16
chaoflux
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RI

 
Quote:
Originally posted by kendan
What chip are you using?


edit: is this the mini orb you are using? http://www.thermaltake.com/du0462-8.htm
yeah thats the one..except I was getting 6,000 to 6,500 rpms on both fans...but besides the point..1.4Ghz
chaoflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-01, 05:03 PM   #17
Maximus Nickus
Senior Shaman

 
Maximus Nickus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milton Keynes, U.K.

 
My AMD hit 95C once and that was after 5mins when da fan failed, the other time it was off for half an hour!!!!!

Dunno what it hit but it smoked the board, luckily its was a s*** board.

Wif my Epox well, look @ the sig!

__________________
Lead Senior - Cooling
Abit AT7 Max2 | 2100+ @ 3200+
Dual Loop WaterCooling | 0.1 C/W CPU Block
In order to succeed, you must try. | Avatar by Plague.

Be calm, relax and the answer will come to you

Folding at Home
My Heatware
Maximus Nickus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?