Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Which produces more heat???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-07, 07:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mycobacteria
Member



Join Date: Dec 2006

 
Which produces more heat???


I know you can lower the multi so:

355x9 = 3.2

400x8 = 3.2

457x7 = 3.2

533x6 = 3.2

(edit: we will presume they are all on say 1.4v)

Do they all produce the same amout of heat even though they are all clocked at 3.2? My guess is the 355x9 produces the least amout of heat.... but its just a guess.

Last edited by Mycobacteria; 03-15-07 at 08:31 PM.
Mycobacteria is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 07:53 PM   #2
mikep7779



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Im not 100% on this but id say that most of the heat is from vcore.

__________________
Aim :: Mikep7779
If you need me you can reach me there.
---------FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 UNDER MIKEP7779---------
Antec P180B // Conroe Q6600 (lapped) / Ultra-120 eXtreme (lapped) //Asus P5W-DH // EVGA 260 (216) //
4GB OCZ Platinum REV 2 // 2 74gb Raptors in RAID 0 // Soundblaster Xtreemmusic // Audio Technica a900
OCZ GameXStream 700w
Heatware
mikep7779 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 08:14 PM   #3
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
They should be about the same if they are the same voltage, but if i had to say anything the 533x6 would be the lowest if you can even set that in the bios. Since that puts the least stress on the cpu. and more on the motherboard. ( i could be totally wrong) but if they are all stable i suggest doing the 355x9 because that puts less stress on motherboard and ram.

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 08:34 PM Thread Starter   #4
Mycobacteria
Member



Join Date: Dec 2006

 
I would "presume" that the 9x multi would emit the least amout of heat, because the FSB is so much lower, and this would put less stress on the CPU??
Mycobacteria is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 09:43 PM   #5
Tyranos
Member

 
Tyranos's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NM

10 Year Badge
 
Unless I'm missing something, changing the multiplier doesn't affect the heat output of the cpu- only the voltage will do that. The multiplier won't change the amount of voltage, or the amount of resistance against voltage within the cpu itself. The fsb on the other hand brings the northbridge and memory in to play. Those higher fsb's will require more voltage thus raising overall system temperatures.

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K, Biostar TP67XE, EVGA GTX 570, 6gb Mushkin Radioactive, Corsair 850TX, Noctua NH-D14, Corsair 800D
Heatware
Tyranos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 10:13 PM   #6
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, the CPU heat output would remain the same.

The Northbirdge, however, would get hotter at higher FSB speeds.

__________________
♫♪ ☺ ♫♪
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 10:21 PM   #7
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
JCLW is right.....as well though C2D's thermal wattage doesnt change all that much when appling more volts. the thermal wattage is more effected by the cpu speed.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-07, 10:51 PM   #8
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
They should all be the same. Since the clock speed nor vcore is increasing there shouldn't be an increase in heat to the processor.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-07, 09:55 AM   #9
ZL1
Senior Crypto Caretaker


 
ZL1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCLW
Yes, the CPU heat output would remain the same.

The Northbirdge, however, would get hotter at higher FSB speeds.
exactly, but it should be worth it

D

__________________
What is The Bitcoin? Want The Bitcoin?
1ZL1ucArGfCFc9RRn7uch65or7UgR1sWW
LZL1LnJXmWsntfjzwTHeLUQziL1hcmTPsj
ZL1 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-07, 11:42 AM   #10
i686
Member

 
i686's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: French Mountains

 
Cool


hi'
should be the one with a 9 mutiplier, as some said think about the NB ... at 533fsb ... 799mhz, a bit about heat ..
did you test them all?
coz I can tell you already that x 8 is hotter than x 9
not much 2c ... but cooler with 9x356 than 8x400

i686

__________________

PSU : BeQuiet 750w
MB : ASUS P8P67-M
CPU : Intel Core I5 2500K/@4.0ghz
Ram : GSkill 8gb (2x4) 1600 Cl8
Hs : Noctua NF12 - Exhaust fan only
SSD :Crucial M4 128gb / OCZ VertexII 60gb
HDD :2xSpinpoint F1 Samsung
Video : Nvidia Gforce GTX 570
Monitor : Viewsonic 27"
i686 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-07, 12:41 PM   #11
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
why not just go 533x9 if you have the cooling it should be stable Hahahah.

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-07, 04:36 PM   #12
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by imposter
why not just go 533x9 if you have the cooling it should be stable Hahahah.
let me sprinkly my crack dust on my e4300 and see if it works.........































yep sure is high!

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-07, 02:40 AM   #13
Cjwinnit
B&

 
Cjwinnit's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France

10 Year Badge
 
It's just conditional on the actual clock speed and the Vcore. Higher bus speed will mean the northbridge will kick out more power..

__________________
-= Maths Ninja =-

Official Modding Xaser III thread resurrecter.

"LIES! THE ONLY THING MORE AWESOME sounding THEN SEVERAL DELTAS AT 60+DB IS THE SCREAMING OF MERE MORTALS AS THEY GET TOO CLOSE!"
-freakdiablo
Cjwinnit is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?