Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

2 GPU'S Same rig

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-07, 07:32 AM Thread Starter   #1
NEWBIE911
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NE. from The IE

10 Year Badge
 
2 GPU'S Same rig


Trying to fold 2 GPU'S In the same Rig .... Cant figure it out ......

I'm using winxp Can only get one to run tried to follow the FAQ from stanford ....
NEWBIE911 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 07:59 AM   #2
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Assuming you set up two directories, one for each GPU, I'm going to guess that you didn't answer yes to "change advanced options" when running -config and give one instance a different machine ID. I'm also assuming you stopped all cpu instances (the GPU instances must have machine IDs different than any running CPU instances).

Folks haven't had much luck running two GPUs. One will run close to proper speed but the other will always be slower than it would as a stand alone GPU.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 09:00 AM   #3
zim01
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia

 


These are x1950 Pro's...run ~7/frame day in, day out.

Check this guide:
http://folding.stanford.edu/FAQ-ATI.html

Download cat 6.5 driver only:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...s/ATI_Catalyst

Download ATITool:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/Tweaking/ATITool

What cards are you running? which version of xp?

Keep at it as the ps3 software is being ported to the gpu, which probably means it works better there.

pm me if I can help further
zim01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 09:59 AM   #4
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zim01
These are x1950 Pro's...run ~7/frame day in, day out.

Download cat 6.5 driver only:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...s/ATI_Catalyst


Zim, i thought 6.11 drivers were need for the 1950 pro's?

Also, what mobo do you run 2 of them on?

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 10:14 AM   #5
zim01
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pscout
Zim, i thought 6.11 drivers were need for the 1950 pro's?

Also, what mobo do you run 2 of them on?
I just use what works...no experimenting with the latest greatest

mobo Asus M2R32-MVP Socket AM2
zim01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 11:03 AM   #6
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zim01
I just use what works...no experimenting with the latest greatest

mobo Asus M2R32-MVP Socket AM2
I never had any sucess with dual gpu's ... all my tests were on asus intel chip sets including a p5w64 where i even tried 3.

The only results i recall seeing where the 2 gpu's get close to the perf of 1 is when the 2 gpu's are the same. The only 2 identical ones i had were aiw x1900's. I had 1 1950 pro, ... i guess i should have gotten a second one

Or perhaps more likley is it the radeon chipset on your mobo which appears to have 2 pci-e 16x slots.

So i kindof gave up on them ... in my space/rack limited environement, smp and quads make a lot more sense esp with cooling and power requirements for the gpu's, and summer temps approaching.

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout

Last edited by pscout; 04-01-07 at 11:11 AM.
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 11:10 AM   #7
zim01
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pscout
I never had any sucess with dual gpu's ... all my tests were on asus intel chip sets including a p5w64 where i tried 3.

The only results i recall seeing where the 2 gpu's get close to the perf of 1 is when the 2 gpu's are the same. The only 2 identical ones i had were aiw x1900's.

So i kindof gave up on them ... in my space/rack limited environement, smp and quads make a lot more sense esp with cooling and power requirements for the gpu's, and summer temps approaching.
I"m all for quads...go Pete
zim01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 11:11 AM   #8
ihrsetrdr
Senior Member

 
ihrsetrdr's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: just on the edge of civilization, in the Mojave Desert

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pscout
I never had any sucess with dual gpu's ... all my tests were on asus intel chip sets including a p5w64 where i tried 3.

The only results i recall seeing where the 2 gpu's get close to the perf of 1 is when the 2 gpu's are the same. The only 2 identical ones i had were aiw x1900's.

So i kindof gave up on them ... in my space/rack limited environement, smp and quads make a lot more sense esp with cooling and power requirements for the gpu's, and summer temps approaching.
I did have 3(in separate rigs), but now am GPU-less. With Summer on it's way, I'll have to get the lm sensors setup on the Linux rigs.

__________________
Folding User Stats

ihrsetrdr aka Tim

Be strong when you are weak, brave when you are scared, and humble when you are victorious.
- Unknown
ihrsetrdr is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 03:43 PM Thread Starter   #9
NEWBIE911
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NE. from The IE

10 Year Badge
 
1900 Gt 256mb 1950XTX 512mb winxpro sp2 M2N-SLI Deluxe
NEWBIE911 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-07, 06:23 PM   #10
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zim01
...These are x1950 Pro's...run ~7/frame day in, day out...
Are you running 3D clocks or 2D clocks?

Is there a way to force 3D clocks with two cards?

edit: n/m - tray tools works.

Last edited by JCLW; 04-01-07 at 08:09 PM.
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?