Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Toshiba Hard drive repair software?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-07, 11:21 PM Thread Starter   #1
Darur
Member

 
Darur's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006

 
Toshiba Hard drive repair software?


Hey folks,

I was recently given a laptop to fix as it could not boot into Windows. After a couple of tests I discovered a number of sectors on the drive were corrupt. Because its a Toshiba drive, there are very few free applications to fix this problem. The owner does not care if the data is erased so thats no problem.

I attempted to wipe the drive to see if that would fix it but no luck. Does anyone know of a bootable program I could use to fix the problem? Many thanks!

__________________
Main rig

DFI LP UT NF590 AM2
A64 X2 4600 @ 2.75GHz
Evga 8800 GTS @ 621/972
2 x 1 GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 850 5-5-5-18
PC Power and Cooling 510 Turbocool PSU
Darur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-07, 11:53 PM   #2
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-07, 01:13 AM   #3
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
Meh, get a new drive and try copying any files that are absolutely needed with an external enclosure or something, then toss it.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-07, 02:06 AM Thread Starter   #4
Darur
Member

 
Darur's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by moz_21
Meh, get a new drive and try copying any files that are absolutely needed with an external enclosure or something, then toss it.
Thats just it, they don't need any of the files nor do they want them. I could easily swap drives but I am trying to do this for free. I don't mind spending a little money on a program if its needed because I can always use new tools, just so long as the program creates bootable CDs. My last resort would be buying a new drive.

__________________
Main rig

DFI LP UT NF590 AM2
A64 X2 4600 @ 2.75GHz
Evga 8800 GTS @ 621/972
2 x 1 GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 850 5-5-5-18
PC Power and Cooling 510 Turbocool PSU
Darur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-07, 09:14 AM   #5
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darur
Thats just it, they don't need any of the files nor do they want them. I could easily swap drives but I am trying to do this for free. I don't mind spending a little money on a program if its needed because I can always use new tools, just so long as the program creates bootable CDs. My last resort would be buying a new drive.
Well most drives are supposed to remap bad sectors to a reserved new one. Since you can scan it and find some, either this drive doesn't do that, or it has already used all of the reserved sectors. Have you tried running a SMART tool on it? I guess I feel that if it's bad now, it's only gonna get worse over time.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-07, 11:52 AM   #6
Murdochs_mad
Member

 
Murdochs_mad's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall

 
Like moz_21 said the drives probably already remapped as many bad sectors as it can. the best solution IMHO is replace the drive, because it will happen again (and the bad sectors always appear where the critical files are ) 30 quid

__________________
Main Rig - Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 : Gigabyte EP35-DS3R : 8Gb Corsair XMS3 DDR3 10600 : Gigabyte GTX 460 : 80Gb - 80Gb - Win7 Pro -{Zoe}-
Media Center - Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 : Gigabyte P35-DS3L : 2gb DDR2 6400 : Asus 9400GS : 160Gb - 1Tb - Win7 Pro -{Mary-v4}-
Server - Athlon64 3500 : Compaq MB : 2Gb DDR 3200 : 1Tb(x4) - 320Gb - Ubuntu Server 64bit 8.04LTS -{Jenny}-

Server - Pentium 4 3.2 : Rocky SBC + backplane : 2Gb DDR 3200 : 40Gb - Ubuntu Server 8.04LTS -{Suzie}-
Lappy - Pentium M 755 : 2Gb DDR 3200 : 80Gb - Win7 Pro/Ubuntu/Win XP -{Bonnie}-
Murdochs_mad is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-07, 02:43 PM   #7
VinnyTAMU
Member

 
VinnyTAMU's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: BCS, Texas

 
New HD time. If anything download the Toshiba HD diagnostic, run the extended test and at the end it should show the bad sectors. Then it should prompt you for sector repair (hopefully) and go from there.
VinnyTAMU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-07, 11:17 PM Thread Starter   #8
Darur
Member

 
Darur's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006

 
Well, I'm running a very nice tool called mhdd32 and it seems to be repairing the damaged sectors. I'd like to see if this drive can be salvaged at all but I'm starting to see thats likely only going to be temporary. I alerted the owner and they are ok with buying a new HD so I'll go from there.

Many thanks folks!

EDIT:

I just had an terribly crazy and even more stupid idea. The owner is already going to order a new drive, and they don't really want the old one back or need it back. What if I were to set-up a sterile, low humidity, contained environment, opened the drive, and cleaned the platters using a method which makes no contact with the platter? A search around showed some similar jobs done dealing with the platters of hard drives which were successful. I may be totally off, but as I understand it, the sectors on the platter were physically obstructed or physically damaged, rendering them unusable. If the sectors were cleaned somehow, perhaps some would be made accessible or enough for the drive to work somewhat? I could use a steady, gentle stream of dry, clean air over the platters or some similar method.

Again, I realize this is unbelievably ridiculous but what have I got to loose? Either a worthless drive gets trashed or finds a little use. I realize it would likely not fix the problem completely and most likely it won't work. I also have an endless supply of old drives which can be trashed without any complaints to practice on. Should I go for it? Thoughts, input?

__________________
Main rig

DFI LP UT NF590 AM2
A64 X2 4600 @ 2.75GHz
Evga 8800 GTS @ 621/972
2 x 1 GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 850 5-5-5-18
PC Power and Cooling 510 Turbocool PSU

Last edited by Darur; 04-05-07 at 02:51 AM.
Darur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-07, 10:26 PM   #9
Cytomax
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Im actually going to starting a new topic on this but... you can always try
http://www.grc.com/sr/spinrite.htm
Watch the videos he has on his website.. supposedly the program can fix some drives depending on the reason why its broken..
Eddie
Cytomax is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?