• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Digital camera help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wandl

With a 22 month old son and another daughter on the way (next month!) a digital camera is essential, however my Canon Powershot A520 (top rated on Consumer Reports) is fuzzy at times (see image below)

I'm no expert on digital cameras, what kind of feature should I be looking for in a digital camera to prevent the "fuzziness" when my kid(s) are in motion and I want to capture the Kodak moment?

Attachments

• IMG_7275.JPG
    IMG_7275.JPG
    46.2 KB · Views: 56
What you are looking for most likely is image stabilization. You could also manually play with your settings and see what you get in regards to exposure- your existing rig may meet your needs. It also just may be that you are a little shakey on some shots. Even low light will affect the speed of the exposure and your ability to hold the camera steady enough. So it could be technique.

But there are a lot of additional variants of exposure tied into the AE mode with the new stabilized cameras to cut the blur of shots like yours..

I have several high end cameras and use some IS lenses and I still get a blurred shot now and then.

Here is a shot with an IS lens I did last week and you can see just a little blur on the wing tips

Attachments

• gul 1.jpg
    gul 1.jpg
    30.7 KB · Views: 52
Last edited:
IS mainly prevents blur due to camera shakage. You need a faster lens to stop motion blur.

Ebola said:
IS mainly prevents blur due to camera shakage. You need a faster lens to stop motion blur.

Not exactly.

What I think you are getting at is that faster lenses have wider apertures that allow more light in and allow for faster shutter speeds which stops the action.