Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

evga step up

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-07, 11:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
Kasso
Member

 
Kasso's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
evga step up


when you use the step up program, do you have to send it back to the place you bought the product from? or do you send it back to evga? if its evga, is there anyplace you can buy these re-certified cards? just wondering because I want to know if there is any site i can snag a 320 or 640mb 8800gts from someone who stepped up to a gtx.

__________________
Heat
Add me to your xbox friends list: http://live.xbox.com/member/Kasso187
Main Rig:
Athlon 64 X2 Brisbane 1.9Ghz@2.4Ghz
Biostar Tforce 550
OCZ 2 x 2GB DDR2 Dual Channel
WD Caviar 250GB SATA
GeForce 7300GT
Cooling for Main: 1/2" ID Water Cooling; Swiftech MCP 355 w/Alphacool Top, Swiftech Micro Resevoir, Swiftech 320 Radiatior (3 x 120mm), Swiftech MCW60 GPU, Swiftech Apogee GT, *I should be sponsored by Swiftech lol*, all in a Thermaltake Armor Jr. Case
Kasso is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-07, 11:38 PM   #2
Aceros
Member

 
Aceros's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
www.evga.com

Read their policy, its a good one to know, esp if your considering buying a gfx card.

But to answer your question, you return to evga.
Aceros is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-07, 12:11 AM   #3
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
ive always wondered what they do with the returned stepup cards... and you send it back to EVGA btw.. thats what i did when i stepped up from my 7900gt KO 512mb to my 8800gts 640mb

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-07, 11:10 AM   #4
toddm27
Member

 
toddm27's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Smyrna, TN

10 Year Badge
 
probably recertify them and sell as reman

__________________
heatware
toddm27 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-07, 05:07 PM   #5
AngelicPenguin
Member

 
AngelicPenguin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Round Rock, Texas

 
You can only "step up" within 90 days of the purchase of the card you want to replace? I'm confused...is this just to help you buy now and replace it as soon as something better comes around? I mean who upgrades their card that quickly?
AngelicPenguin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-07, 06:16 PM   #6
J-Sap
Member

 
J-Sap's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004

 
Its made so if something better comes out in 90 days you'll be able to step up to a better card without shelling out the cash for it at full price. It's a good way of protecting yourself from wasting large amounts of money to constantly keep your pc top of the line.

__________________
System specs: Intel C2QX Q6850; ABIT IX38 Quad GT; 4GB Crucial Ballistix PC2 6400; XFX Radeon HD 5870; Seagate 2x320GB+400GB+500GB = 1.5TB; Auzentech Xplosion 7.1; Corsair HX620W; Cooler Master ComsoS

My Heatware
J-Sap is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-07, 07:41 PM   #7
David_N

 
David_N's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hiding in Canada from comments regarding my avatar :)

 
It's also useful if you have money for a midrange card now, need something to get by, and will have money for a higher end card in less than three months time.

David_N is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-07, 07:48 PM   #8
Aceros
Member

 
Aceros's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
IE. 8800GTX -> Watercooled or Ultra. if your already paying that much, you'll probably appreciate the step up.

Also its only offered for certain cards (high end).
Aceros is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?