Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Unjumpered drive...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-07, 05:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
extremepilot
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Unjumpered drive...


OK here is a weird situation. I have a WD 80Gig 7200 ATA drive. It is unjumpered. It was previously connected thru the slave connection (I used to the think that was master - that is, the one closest to the motherboard) and in BIOS was detected as master. I just changed it to the farthest connection on the cable (Master) and it is still detected is master, which is what I want, but why was it detected as master in the slave connection previously? and should I go out and look for a jumper, or is this fine?
extremepilot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-07, 06:01 PM   #2
DaBigJ
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
The position on the cable doesn't determine whether it's master or slave. The jumper setting does. And I happen to know that those WD drives are set to master (single) when the jumper is taken off completely.
DaBigJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-07, 06:28 PM Thread Starter   #3
extremepilot
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Very neat. Thanks.
I was watching a preparational CompTIA video yesterday and the guy had the IDE cable labeled like that.
extremepilot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-07, 06:29 PM   #4
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
On some WD drives no jumper = cable select, or master.

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-07, 04:46 PM   #5
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by imposter
On some WD drives no jumper = cable select, or master.
It can also mean "Single Drive" on some of them, which basically is Master but some older WD drives actually say that on the little jumper cheat sheet sticker.

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-07, 02:40 PM   #6
Xione
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands

 
I believe I also have a WD unjumpered drive (never found a jumper while working inside the case anyway, but didn't really look for it). What would happen if I hook this up on a socket 775 mobo with 2 other drives, both SATA?

I'm guessing it'll just boot windows from the SATA drive and list the PATA one as a new addition to "my computer" right? Or would the unjumpered drive cause trouble?
Xione is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-07, 02:37 AM   #7
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xione
I believe I also have a WD unjumpered drive (never found a jumper while working inside the case anyway, but didn't really look for it). What would happen if I hook this up on a socket 775 mobo with 2 other drives, both SATA?

I'm guessing it'll just boot windows from the SATA drive and list the PATA one as a new addition to "my computer" right? Or would the unjumpered drive cause trouble?
Depends slightly on the mobo, often times it will try to boot off the SATA drives first it is really a hit or miss. But you should be able to change it in the BIOS just look for something that reads 'disk drive priority' or similar. This will allow you to change the order that the BIOS searches for a bootable drive and just set it to your SATA drives.

The most likely result is just slower boot times as the BIOS scans the IDE drive for a boot sector and then fails and goes on to the SATA. Worst case scenario is it will ignore the SATA drives and jsut fail loading windows. If that happens you will want to take a look at what I mentioned above, or perhaps moving the IDE drive the secondary IDE channel to try and force the BIOS to ignore it.

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?