Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

internet effects fps? -feel like a noob here

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-07, 03:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
redrumy3
Member

 
redrumy3's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York

 
internet effects fps? -feel like a noob here


i know this is a noob question but friend wants to upgrade ram and video card but his other friend said it wouldnt help cause his internet is not good, so if he got a better gfx card his fps wouldnt be higher cause his slow internet? now i dont know but never happened to me even when i was on 56k so idk i dont think its true. lol

__________________
Corsair H80
i5 4670K 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-1600 1.50v
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H F10
Evga GTX 770 4GB | SamSung Evo 120GB SSD
Evga 850W G2 | Asus Xonar Essence STX
Beyerdynamic DT-990 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz
SteelSeries Rival | Razer BlackWidow Ultimate | Corsair 760T
Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit
redrumy3 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-07, 04:14 PM   #2
aftermath
Member

 
aftermath's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Big Brother Nation

10 Year Badge
 
no the fps would be higher the friend's friend is trying to confuse you both, the online play is governed by PING times, for instance battlefield2 the enemy would be appearing to move at 2 fps (jumpy cant hit them) while the trees all moved at 100 as you run.
To summarize YOU are correct it is not true.

__________________
78.32.221.104/29
aftermath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-07, 08:09 PM   #3
Omsion
Member

 
Omsion's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago and/or NJ

 
In general, your frame rate should not see any effect from a laggy connection. In a FPS, you'll probably see what aftermath said - other players warping though space.
The only way I can see lag affecting full screen frame rate is if the data the game engine is recieving and rendering is too much for your connection, so the game can only render in fits and starts as the data is recieved. I think you can see this in action when just entering a busy location in an MMORPG, when the game is recieving tons of info, and your bandwidth can't deliver the data fast enough for it to render smoothly.

__________________
Current
2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | TR Venomous X
EVGA GTX 460 768MB | 2x4GB G.Skill (F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2)
Seasonic X650 | Fractal Design Define Mini
Omsion is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?