Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

System overhaul

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-07, 01:35 AM Thread Starter   #1
bigtwinlvr
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2007

 
System overhaul


Ok Im at a split in the road. My old desktop system which I took out of storage booted up once, then the next time I fired it back up, it was dead in the water. Critical error in windows, and 2 attempts to reinstall have failed. It was a P4, 1gig of DDR pc3500, Nvidia 5600ultra agp, powered by an Antec 530watt psu. I already know I need to upgrade the video, so I might as well replace and upgrade to pci-e. Question though is, do I go with a 939 socket, and use the memory I have, or go AM2, and buy new ram. My psu has the 20pin connector, but I could get the adapter plug and use it anyways right? I doubt Ill use SLI, but will be gaming. Im already planning to at least mildly overclocking it. Any advice and opinions? Im going to post a similar question in the intel forums, but aim angling towards AMD and save money.
bigtwinlvr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-07, 01:40 AM   #2
SeasonalEclipse
Member

 
SeasonalEclipse's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006

 
I think you should go AM2, better upgrade path. You can pick up 2 GBs of DDR2 for under 150 dollars brand new now a days.

__________________

The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210
SeasonalEclipse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-07, 05:14 AM   #3
ochungry
Member

 
ochungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtwinlvr
Ok Im at a split in the road. My old desktop system which I took out of storage booted up once, then the next time I fired it back up, it was dead in the water. Critical error in windows, and 2 attempts to reinstall have failed. It was a P4, 1gig of DDR pc3500, Nvidia 5600ultra agp, powered by an Antec 530watt psu. I already know I need to upgrade the video, so I might as well replace and upgrade to pci-e. Question though is, do I go with a 939 socket, and use the memory I have, or go AM2, and buy new ram. My psu has the 20pin connector, but I could get the adapter plug and use it anyways right? I doubt Ill use SLI, but will be gaming. Im already planning to at least mildly overclocking it. Any advice and opinions? Im going to post a similar question in the intel forums, but aim angling towards AMD and save money.
If I was you, I find out what'd dead on current system and get a cheap replacement and Wait for AMD's Barcelona. By then Intel will drop in price because of it, and then you can decide Intel or AMD. Or just sell your DDR and go w/ 3600 brisbane w/ a decent motherboard. When Barcelona hits the market, you can upgrade to it using the same motherboard.
ochungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-07, 05:33 AM   #4
Aceros
Member

 
Aceros's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
So many new things coming now, it makes it hard to decide to buy anything in the now. I guess I'll keep waiting to ><
Aceros is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?