Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Do you use the cables that come with your motherboard? Sata cables?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-07, 10:06 AM Thread Starter   #1
Atari
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002

 
Do you use the cables that come with your motherboard? Sata cables?


I am building a new setup here and I have the ASUS p5b-E and 2 WD 250g SATA II 3.0 gps. I was wondering how many of you use the included cables that come with the motherboard (i.e SATA cables). I have no idea if these cables are even rated for SATA II or if you should use them.
Atari is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-27-07, 01:42 PM   #2
maxfly
Member

 
maxfly's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: GlassCity USA

 
i dont use them but they work fine.i dont like how stiff they are and their harder to hide.i replaced mine with some easy to bend cables.

__________________

I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
EK Supreme HF
DD GTX580
XSPC RX360

HEAT
maxfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-07, 02:05 PM   #3
Peepaw
Member

 
Peepaw's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Warner Robins, Ga

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfly
i dont use them but they work fine.i dont like how stiff they are and their harder to hide.i replaced mine with some easy to bend cables.
Maxfly could you tell me which cables you are using? I have the same problem, the stock Asus ones are just too stiff.
Peepaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-07, 05:59 PM   #4
maxfly
Member

 
maxfly's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: GlassCity USA

 
im not positive but i think these are the specific ones ive got.theyre much much easier to bend and the locking tabs are very useful.
http://www.svc.com/gc10atasm12.html
svc has a pretty good selection but their shipping prices may be a little high.so you may want to shop around a little.

__________________

I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
EK Supreme HF
DD GTX580
XSPC RX360

HEAT
maxfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-07, 06:43 PM   #5
Gillbot
Member

 
Gillbot's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: East Palestine, OH

10 Year Badge
 
I did because I didn't have any others.

__________________
My Heatware
Gillbot is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-07, 10:11 PM   #6
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
Yes I used the stock ones too. I have not noticed the stiffness. I just took the loop that was left over and stuck it behind the MOBO tray.

__________________
#1Win7Rosetta2600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2UbuntuSMP BA 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It)GNexus, N4,N7, iphone5
Folding for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
"The day MS stops supporting Gaming is the day we can all switch to Linux"
Folding User Stats
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-07, 10:40 PM   #7
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

 
Here is a pretty good store for cabling. Plenty of shipping options too. They offer between 6 inch to 36 inch. Plus a nice variety of colors.

http://www.jab-tech.com/10-18-and-24...les-c-120.html

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-07, 10:59 PM   #8
Randyman...
Member

 
Randyman...'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX

 
I like the Asus SATA cables - especially the right angle ones! When you get 6 cables per MoBo, they start to add up quick (I think I have like 18 of them ). Flexibility is not an issue, and you can easily force them to whatever arrangement you need IMO.

I also used the included cables that came with my Areca 1210 XOR RAID-5 card. They are a bit longer and also have right angle plug on one end. They work perfect, and their longer length allows very neat routing to the PCIe card.


__________________
Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's
Randyman... is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-07, 03:08 PM   #9
UglyChild
Member

 
UglyChild's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mother Russia

 
Asus cables work , no need to waste any more money on some other brand cables.
UglyChild is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-07, 09:28 PM   #10
NoKtEm
Member

 
NoKtEm's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001

 
I use those cables, they work like a charm!
NoKtEm is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?