Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

state of 64bit support

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-07, 08:22 PM Thread Starter   #1
blueswitch
Member

 
blueswitch's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denver, CO

 
state of 64bit support


ok I'm looking for an honest answer guys...Im looking to upgrade to feisty fawn..and I'm trying to decide 64bit or not, I have a turion laptop. I know at first I tried 64bit on my athlon tower and found somethings lacking like flash player support etc.....is it worth going 64bit or should I stay with the regular x86?

__________________

Fold for Team 32!
_________________________________________
MSI MS-1029 Turion MT-37, Lancaster 2ghz
X700, 128mb
2gb OCZ PC3200

My Heatware
blueswitch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-07, 08:28 PM   #2
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
The only thing, and I repeat the only thing that isn't in 64bit that you can't simply find a custom version for is flash....and for that there is nspluginwrapper.

Now, almost everything has been ported to 64bit. Some older applications/games aren't, but then again they are open source so if they don't work right off..just compile it yourself.

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-07, 08:32 PM Thread Starter   #3
blueswitch
Member

 
blueswitch's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denver, CO

 
ok let me ask this then....will I see much of a performance increase with 64 bit then?...or is it more a RAM scaling thing?

__________________

Fold for Team 32!
_________________________________________
MSI MS-1029 Turion MT-37, Lancaster 2ghz
X700, 128mb
2gb OCZ PC3200

My Heatware
blueswitch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-07, 09:05 PM   #4
splat
ASCII Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
splat's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philly

10 Year Badge
 
i doubt you'll notice any difference as a desktop system.

I've been running 64bit gentoo for months with no problems, btw.

__________________
______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
_______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
_________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
__/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
_____________/\/\___________
once you clock you can't go stock
[RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group

splat is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-07, 09:10 PM   #5
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
Only performance difference is that you get to run FAH SMP client

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-07, 09:15 PM Thread Starter   #6
blueswitch
Member

 
blueswitch's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denver, CO

 
except I don't have dual core proc. this is a s754 turion

__________________

Fold for Team 32!
_________________________________________
MSI MS-1029 Turion MT-37, Lancaster 2ghz
X700, 128mb
2gb OCZ PC3200

My Heatware
blueswitch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-07, 02:46 PM   #7
maddog39

 
maddog39's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somerville, MA

 
Well using full 64bit with FAH will definately give you a performance advantage. Because the 64bit just means you have a 64bit memory address space (im pretty sure) whichs helps immensely with mathematical calculations as far as I know.

__________________
My Rig:
Windows 7 64
EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.21GHz VCORE 1.325
4x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800
EVGA GTX 260 C216 SSC 896MB
maddog39 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?