Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Which card goes where?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-07, 06:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
GTFouts
Member

 
GTFouts's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Sticks of the Boonies, GA.

 
Which card goes where?


I am trying to install my new crossfire cards but the manual, web page or anywhere else I have tried looking does not say which card goes in which slot. This is kinda important I would think. Can anyone tell me so that I can put my waterblocks on correct the first time.
I am assuming that the X1950 PCIE 512MB Crossfire card goes in slot 1, the first pci-e slot next the northbridge. This is the card that has 1 DVI monitor connector on top and the double crossfire connector at the bottom.
And the X1950XTX PCIE 512MB card goes in the 2nd slot. This card has 2 DVI connectors.

It just completely amazes me that I cannot find this information anywhere.

__________________
QUADZILLA - LIVES!
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme - EK Full MB Chipset Waterblock's
Core I7-3960X Extreme @ 4.5 GHz - EK Supreme HF Waterblock
2 x HD 7970's Crossfired - EK Waterblocks
GSkill Ripsaw DDR3-2133 (4x8GB)
Enermax Galaxy 1000W Power Supply
Crucial M4 SSD 256GB SATA III- WD Raptor 600GB & 400GB SATA III
Plextor SATA DVD+-RW PX-810SA
X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium - Gigaworks S705 7.1 Surround Sound
HP LP3065 30" Flat Screen Monitor
Custom UFO case - 4 x W/C Loops - D5 Pumps - XPSC Res's - PA Rad's
GTFouts is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-07, 06:31 PM   #2
Shell
Member

 
Shell's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CYYZ Pearson

 
Master card in slot 1, slave in slot 2. Then dongle them together.
Not much else to say.

What games are you going to run?

__________________
FX-6300@4.5GHz, 7770, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 2x1TB
i5-4690K@4.5GHz, 7850, 2x4GB DDR3-2400 CL10, Seasonic G-550, 2x1TB
Shell is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-07, 06:46 PM Thread Starter   #3
GTFouts
Member

 
GTFouts's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Sticks of the Boonies, GA.

 
Thanks Shell, now I can put my blocks on and continue this upgrade.

I have a few that I'm going to give a go. Going to replay Stalker wide open this time. Splinter Double Agent now that I will have 3.0 shaders. Some supreme commander and who knows what else. I have so many its scarey.

__________________
QUADZILLA - LIVES!
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme - EK Full MB Chipset Waterblock's
Core I7-3960X Extreme @ 4.5 GHz - EK Supreme HF Waterblock
2 x HD 7970's Crossfired - EK Waterblocks
GSkill Ripsaw DDR3-2133 (4x8GB)
Enermax Galaxy 1000W Power Supply
Crucial M4 SSD 256GB SATA III- WD Raptor 600GB & 400GB SATA III
Plextor SATA DVD+-RW PX-810SA
X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium - Gigaworks S705 7.1 Surround Sound
HP LP3065 30" Flat Screen Monitor
Custom UFO case - 4 x W/C Loops - D5 Pumps - XPSC Res's - PA Rad's
GTFouts is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?