Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

System Overheat shutdown

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-07, 07:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Wathnix
Member

 
Wathnix's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hamster

10 Year Badge
 
System Overheat shutdown


I'm rebuilding a computer of a relative of mine that had a bad PSU and Mobo, I'm taking a guess that the system overheated and fried components, I want to find a program that can monitor the cpu and mobo temp and shut the system down if it overheats, any ideas?

__________________
"Beer is how we know God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin.
Thermaltake Tsunami case, Q6600 CPU, XFX mobo, 500GB HDD, GTX 460 video card, Corsair 520HX PSU
Wathnix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-07, 07:55 PM   #2
N1NJA
Member

 
N1NJA's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan

 
Umm, if the cpu overheats it should shut itself down as a safety feature? MBM will force the shutdown at a certain temp that you can set
N1NJA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-07, 08:21 PM   #3
EmAn
Member

 
EmAn's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ft. Hood Texas

 
there may be an option in the bios as like in my dads via/athlon 1100 rig to shut down at a certain temp

__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles
EmAn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-07, 08:34 PM Thread Starter   #4
Wathnix
Member

 
Wathnix's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hamster

10 Year Badge
 
I Looked and there is no BIOS shutdown option, BTW this is an athlon 3800+ on an am2 mobo

__________________
"Beer is how we know God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin.
Thermaltake Tsunami case, Q6600 CPU, XFX mobo, 500GB HDD, GTX 460 video card, Corsair 520HX PSU
Wathnix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-07, 08:37 PM Thread Starter   #5
Wathnix
Member

 
Wathnix's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hamster

10 Year Badge
 
Ninja, athlons do not take care of thermal problems on their own like intel processors do

__________________
"Beer is how we know God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin.
Thermaltake Tsunami case, Q6600 CPU, XFX mobo, 500GB HDD, GTX 460 video card, Corsair 520HX PSU
Wathnix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-07, 08:42 PM   #6
N1NJA
Member

 
N1NJA's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan

 
My Athlon 2000+ shuts itself down when it overheats (about 75* C), but MBM should do what you want
N1NJA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-07, 03:32 PM Thread Starter   #7
Wathnix
Member

 
Wathnix's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hamster

10 Year Badge
 
ok, thanks ninja dude, i'll check it out

__________________
"Beer is how we know God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin.
Thermaltake Tsunami case, Q6600 CPU, XFX mobo, 500GB HDD, GTX 460 video card, Corsair 520HX PSU
Wathnix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-07, 03:42 PM   #8
EmAn
Member

 
EmAn's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ft. Hood Texas

 
yea mbm has a setting to let you shut down at a certain temp... i would do that but i have w/c so it really isnt an issue but before i had a stock hsf for a p4 and as we know they 5uck... big time i caught my cpu's idle at 190F!!! and i just immediately shut down and then went watercooling now i have never gone past 44C

__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles
EmAn is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?