• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Type Northwood P4 Required for Dell 9100

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jamie

I have had a Dell 9100 laptop (3.2 GHhz Pentium 4, 1G RAM) 3 years, one noisy, noisy, heavy machine.

I was reading Eddie Bauer's article on the 9100 (2/28/05) and he suggested replacing the Prescott P4 3.2 GHz chip with a Northwood P4. 3.0C chip (whatever that is). I didn't even know that Prescott and Northwood variants of the P4 chips existed!

Anyway, I was hoping someone could give me the exact specification of chip I should buy. I had a look and there are too many variants for me to know which one I should choose. As you can guess I am not technically orientated.

My primary concern is to reduce the heat thatmachine produces, so that the 3 fans do not keep kicking in it, It drives me nuts. I don't mind dropping down to a 2.8GHz chip if you think that would make it even quieter.

Hope some can help me.

Jamie :)

well even down to a 2.8ghz the fans will still kick in since they are rated for the same heatout put. i would use Crystal cpuID and use the EIST function to drop the cpu speed down. the program is free and you wouldnt have to change anything out in the laptop.

Thanks for all advice. Trouble with these Dell 9100s is they run very hot (there are 3 fans inside my unit), so reducing fan activity is a bit risky. There are numerous accounts of the motherboards burning out when carrying out intensive tasks for prolonged periods. That's what really gets me. I bought my unit new (it wasn't cheap) when it was meant to be one of Dell flagship units.. a waste of money!!