• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Lost and Hopeless

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ProffessorB

Hey all.. I'm a very new student in the art of overclocking, ie: 2 days or so, heh. I'm having several problems. First off, I have a Celeron 566. Second, every site I've gone to looking for step by step help overclocking my PC, has said.. "Check your motherboard's manual for intructions". Ok, that would be no prob, but I don't have a manual. I didn't build this comp, I bought it, but it was secondhand etc. Ok, to my point... Could anyone give a quick rundown on how to get started? Do I need to open up the case? And what do I look for? Many thanks in advance!!

B

OK well..

Download sisoft sandra find out what motherboard you have.

And did you know your Celeron II 566 is like 110% overclockable that is with the extreme measures of peltier+watercooling hehe anyways...

In Sisoft Sandra you would go into Mainboard information it will give you a manufacture and a model.

That would be your motherboard.

Is your motherboard branded?

And last but not least you overclock your motherboard by raising the FSB and upping the core voltage when it becomes unstable and last one again you need motherboard monitor when you overclock. It monitors your CPU temperatures so it doesn't blow when it goes too high and heat is a real thing you need to get rid of when it comes to overclocking so you might need a new heatsink.

Thanks

Tsunami,

Thanks a ton! DLing Sisoft Sonya as I write this, and I'm excited to get started. I apologize if I seem dense, or completely clueless, and I really appreciate the help, but could you explain how I'd physically up the FSB? Once I get my motherboad info, then what? Thanks again!

B