• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

poor overclock!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mrbobc

hi guys!

i cant seem to get even a 10% increase on my cpu! i'm a newbie at this so please be patient if i ask a silly question!:)

ive got an amd 5200+ 2.60ghz @ 2.79ghz with arctic cooler fan and full load temp at 44c, idle 31c, and an M2A-mvp motherboard with 2gig corsair 5400.

ive been following the guidelines from this forum going up in increments of 4 on my fsb! its currently at 215 x 13 (although i havent fully tested it yet, its ongoing as i speak! 50mins atm!) the last fully tested fsb is 212 x13!

ive been testing with orthos on priority 9! is this right to do??

the problem is that when i set it to 216fsb i got an error on my second core at about 4 mins saying 'expected less than 0.4 currently 0.5! consult the manual' or words to that effect! but i cant find no help files and i dont know what this means? is it a memory error or a cpu error? i'm testing both!

what does this mean overall? can i not go any further? or can i increase voltage and carry on?

also if i set my memory fsb to 400 (normal 333 @ 667mhz) to get 800mhz do i need to increase the mem voltage? and what effect will this have on any overclocking? or anything else for that matter!!

Use memtest86 to test the ram.
So before you up the fsb, up the ram to 800 and run memtest on it. If it works, great, set it to 667 and start on the cpu. If not, up the ram voltage and test again. If it still doesn't work then you might have to lower to 533 to make way for cpu overclocking. You have to remember that the 533/667/800 settings in the bios are not literal, they are relative to the cpu speed, eg 2600/8=325=~333, so at 2790/8=348mhz ram.

Also look into how good your motherboard is, is it known to do fsb speeds that high?