Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

How do you apply thermal paste on your CPU?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-07, 12:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
muhon_zen
Member

 
muhon_zen's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Peru

 
How do you apply thermal paste on your CPU?


Hi, I wanted some suggestions on how to apply thermal paste to a CPU. I'm using Sempron 3000+ Socket A, but any suggestions are fine. Let's use this topic so people can share their techniques and methods

__________________
Folding User Stats
muhon_zen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-07, 01:21 PM   #2
jivetrky
Member

 
jivetrky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Village, IN 46349

 
Well it could vary a little bit with different kinds of paste, but in general I think it's usually best to spread a very thin layer across the core. On a CPU with a heatspreader you would put a little blob in the center and it would spread itself out. But with the open core CPU's you should spread it out.

I use a plastic sandwich bag and my finger to spread it nice and thin and even.

__________________
PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

[--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

"With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/
jivetrky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 10:40 AM   #3
PearlJammzz
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Check this out, and use this stuff. It pwns.

http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appi...core_expsd.pdf
PearlJammzz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 10:42 AM   #4
UglyChild
Member

 
UglyChild's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mother Russia

 
I use a butter knife.

I just do 5 very small drops; one at a center and one at each corner.
UglyChild is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 10:45 AM Thread Starter   #5
muhon_zen
Member

 
muhon_zen's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Peru

 
Ugly, I assume you do that on CPUs with heatspreader... what about those with the core outside (such as AthlonXP 2000+, for instance)?

Pearl, thanks for the tip. Great info!

__________________
Folding User Stats
muhon_zen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 10:56 AM   #6
Inceptor
Member

 
Inceptor's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Iowa

 
I put a small blob in the middle and three tiny blobs around that, put the heatsink on, give it a half turn and back then mount the heatsink. If the heatsink is too big to turn I use and old id card to put a thin layer on the cpu and the heatsink then mount. Very thin so I can still see the writing.
Inceptor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 11:04 AM   #7
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
without heatspreader - spread the paste yourself

with heatspreader - small blob in the center and let the heatsink contact do the rest.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 12:04 PM   #8
DareMe55
Member



Join Date: May 2007

 
I posted in another thread but it got no replies.

Inkfx what do you mean headspreader? I know what a heatsink is... but yea. Im going to be buying a e6600 core 2 duo. Can you tell me how that would work?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3hLXxQ5BkY Skip to 2:40. Is that good?

Last edited by DareMe55; 06-07-07 at 12:18 PM.
DareMe55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 12:29 PM   #9
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
The E6600 would be a CPU with a heatspreader. All CPUs come with heatspreaders on them these days. However, the Athlon he has probably doesn't.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #10
muhon_zen
Member

 
muhon_zen's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Peru

 
a CPU comes with heatspreader when it has a metal surface on top of the core (so you don't get to see the core). It's larger, so it will have more surface with the heatsink. If you remember old Pentiums (133MHz ones) it should recall a heatspreader (all the surface to touch the heatsink).

Athlon XP and Sempron XP for Socket A come like a small square (core) on top of a silicon board which is the CPU. The core goes straight to the heatsink, so it's not a heat spreader.

__________________
Folding User Stats
muhon_zen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-07, 10:34 PM   #11
grey89
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: tn

 
what do you guys think about twisting back and forth to get rid of air bubbles...the original says too..but look at this #6 on the install instructions http://www.crazypc.com/products/50213.html idont know could have a point twisting these grooved sinks nowadays..
grey89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-07, 03:21 AM   #12
Moto7451
Senior Something

 
Moto7451's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LA, CA

 
I use my pocket knife. I've been getting better results with that than my previous attempts with a straight razor.

__________________
Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

D5 Pump Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4
Moto7451 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-07, 01:34 PM   #13
DareMe55
Member



Join Date: May 2007

 
Someone is telling me I dont need to put thermal paste on my e6600. He says that it comes with it already on it or something... And he said he didnt do anything.
DareMe55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-07, 02:33 PM   #14
killermiller
Member

 
killermiller's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK

 
He is correct in a way, the Stock HSF comes with a thermal pad installed. However, the CPU does not have any sort or TIM applied. If you are using it for the first time, you do not been to apply anything, but the thermal pads generally do not perform as well as an aftermarket thermal paste or material.

__________________
If I haven't been around recently, check me out @ XS.
killermiller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-07, 04:11 PM   #15
Something Else
Registered

 
Something Else's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oxford, UK

 
The first time I put AS Ceramique on my CPU (with heatspreader), I just made a line down the middle and put the heatsink on top (as per the instructions on the Arctic Silver website), but I was concerned that I had put too much on, as it was a little hot.

So I took it off and cleaned it up and followed the method given by Custom PC (a UK magazine), who recommended the spread a small blob with your finger in a sandwich bag method. Unfortunately, I found that Ceramique was a little difficult to spread evenly with a finger, so now I think that it's too uneven, as there seemed to be little bits where there was more TIM than others.

But, seeing as it's now summer, the ambient temperatures are fluctuating so wildly that it's hardly worth the effort to do it again, and almost impossible to tell if it's better with one method or another (difference of only 2C or so.)

Basically, either I did both methods badly (which is very possible), or there isn't any noticable difference between those two methods if done correctly.

__________________
Case: Antec 900
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 650W
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe
CPU: Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.0GHz (400x8) (Stepping 6-B2)
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
GFX: Powercolor ATI Radeon HD4870 @ Stock
RAM: 4GB OCZ Reaper PC8500 @ 1000MHz
HDD: WD 500GB RE2, Samsung F1 1TB
Optical: LiteOn LH20A1H
Display: AG Neovo 19"
Sound: Auzentech X-fi Prelude, Logitech Z-5500
Something Else is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-07, 04:30 PM   #16
Clockwork_Apple
Member

 
Clockwork_Apple's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK

 
Difference between a bad mount and a good mount isnt that noticable, especially since you've got fluctuating ambient temps.

I put a small rice grain sized blob in the middle of the IHS and let the heatsink spread it out once its mounted. Never had problems.

__________________
E4400 3100Mhz 1.35v // MSI G33M-FI // 4GB D9GMH
EVGA 8800GT // Modded mATX MicroFly // Corsair HX520W PSU
Dell E172FP 17" // Logitech MX1000 // Saitek Eclipse KB
Apogee GT // Maze 4 // Laing D5 // Swiftech MCR320-QP

<3 SFF!
Clockwork_Apple is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-07, 07:49 PM   #17
Moto7451
Senior Something

 
Moto7451's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LA, CA

 
I disagree. I've seen bad mounts that cause a delta of 3-4C. That is certainly noticeable.

That said, you do need to keep track of your ambient temps or your temp sensors will tell you nothing useful.

__________________
Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

D5 Pump Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4
Moto7451 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-07, 09:44 PM   #18
Cant.Touch.This
Member

 
Cant.Touch.This's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York

 
When I mounted the XP90 onto my 3200+ I remember putting a large blob, yes, a large blob onto the metal covering of the CPU. None of it leaked over the side or anything but that was my very first build ever, nothing went wrong though... lol.

(This is the same system with the large amount of thermal paste, I think I should reapply....)
Cant.Touch.This is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-07, 01:24 AM   #19
UglyChild
Member

 
UglyChild's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mother Russia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhon_zen
Ugly, I assume you do that on CPUs with heatspreader... what about those with the core outside (such as AthlonXP 2000+, for instance)?

Pearl, thanks for the tip. Great info!

Right, the once with a heatspreader. The once with core outside, well i havent used one since P3. Back then just nice small blob in the center.
UglyChild is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-07, 11:42 AM Thread Starter   #20
muhon_zen
Member

 
muhon_zen's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Peru

 
How do you figure what a good or bad mount is?

__________________
Folding User Stats
muhon_zen is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?