• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gigabyte i650 + E4400 OC Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rustafur

I'm having some major headaches trying to OC my new rig (see signature). I'm new to Intel, have had all AMD machines before this. It seems I can't get my FSB to go beyond 220MHz, and even getting to 220 took some doing. I've tried disabling all the extra CPU features in the BIOS, as well as increasing Vcore to 1.4v, FSB +.10v, and FSB-HT + .10v, and 220MHz is all I can muster. Increasing the voltages helped a bit, but I wouldn't think they would need to be increased at all considering that this board can natively support a 333MHz FSB. I don't think the overall clockspeed is getting in the way either because I've dropped the multi down from 10x to 7x, bringing my clockspeed to 1540, way below the rated clockspeed. I've also tried just jumping to the next strap speeds of 266MHz but that went over like a lead ballon. I'm sure the fact that I'm saddled with the 800MHz strap isn't helping things at all, but even so, that doesn't seem to stop anyone else from reaching 3GHz on their E4400 or E4300 models. Different RAM dividers don't help much, I've tried Unlinked, and every linked option I have. Any help you guys can give me would be great, Thanks!

run the ram linked and synced contrary to belief. see if that helps

but what you have to watch with this chipset set to unlinked lets the ram go wild and sometimes it sets it to a rate that you cant run the ram at. example my 680 i at unlinked runs my ram to the wall @ ddr2 1100. yes the ram is rated for 1150 but at the voltage i felt safe with its not possible for me.. caused all kinds of issues. just watch what linked and synced does to your ram.