• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P5K + E2160 How much farther can I push?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

straywolf

Registered
Hi guys,

All my parts came in (except the two SATA HDs), so I put everything together and started to OC. Since this is my first time overclocking a system, I don't have a good feel of where I should stop. My setup is:

Case: Antec Nine Hundred
MB: P5K (vanilla)
CPU: E2160 Duo Core (currently OC'd to 9x345=3105Hz)
Cooling: Scythe Ninja
RAM: 2Gb Crucial Ballistix PC6400 (DM9GMH) (4-4-4-12)

I'm using 1.35V vcore right now and temperatures are about 20C-idle and 53C -load. I did the vdroop pencil mod and it was a big boost (1.312V-idle/1.256V-load before the mod. After mod was 1.328-idle/1.336-load)

Temps were hitting 56-57C earlier, but I think I bumped the Scythe around too many times installing it the first time. So i took it off and reseated it. I noticed the CPU left dent marks at the 4 corners of the heat sink, so I probably should lap it to get better contact. Ordered a kit from EasyPCKits so going to wait to do that.

But in the mean time, how far should I push my temperatures? Do you think I would be able to push 3.2+ Ghz safely? What else can I do to improve this OC? First time OC'ing so I appreciate any help! :)

OC01.jpg

Last edited:
Hmm.. not sure if my SuperPI is anything impressive since these CPUs only have 1Mb cache, but here you go :)

OC02-1.jpg

Last edited:
Not bad for a budget chip man .

Try more volts , from my exp the volts dont really change my temps much, but do help my clocks . But that could be the water . Go up slow dont go above 1.55v but up to 1.55 is noraml the high side of safe for air cooling I bet there is more in your chip , and the board will do that as well as your ram .