Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Cyber Deals
Cyber Deals NOT FOR SELLING OR TRADING!!! Hot Deals from vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

42" Viore HD Plasma (Refurb) $589 + ship

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-07, 07:20 AM Thread Starter   #1
Mdogs444
Member

 
Mdogs444's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Columbus, OH

 
42" Viore HD Plasma (Refurb) $589 + ship


http://www.ecost.com/detail.aspx?EDP...rce=EWB060707E

42" Recertified Viore HDTV Plasma monitor. Not a bad deal for a refurb. Only 7 left at the time i posted.

__________________
My HEATWARE 31-0 :attn:

NEW BUILD ON THE WAY!
Mdogs444 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-07, 08:28 AM   #2
doublejack
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Detroit

 
They are "up" to 9 left

Definitely a smokin' hot deal though.

__________________
main rig - 2500k @ 4.8GHz, under water | P8P67 Dlx | 2x2gb HyperX blu | eVGA 9800GX2 | Corsair HX620 | 3x80gb SSD raid0, 150gb Raptor, 2x1tb raid1 | Ubuntu 13.10 / Win7 Pro
Steambox - E4400 @ 3.2GHz, TT120 | P5B | 2x1gb Super*Talent | 8400 GS | generic psu | 80gb WD | Toshiba HD-DVD | Ubuntu 13.10 & Steam
HTPC - Sempron 3400 @ 2.5GHz | ECS nForce3-A | 2x512mb DDR416 | Ti4600 | Antec EW 380 | 120gb, 250gb & 500gb drives | Ubuntu w/ XBMC
doublejack is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 11:44 AM   #3
Jizzzared
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
anyone heard of Viore?

__________________
Gigabyte P55a-UD3, i5 750@ 3.8ghz, 1.3 vcore
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
4 gigs G.Skill Eco DDR3 1600- 6,8,6,24
Silverstone ST56ZF
yamaha rx-v2400, crown xls-402
Salk/Ellis 1801's, Rythmik F15 15" servo sub
Jizzzared is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 12:55 PM   #4
doublejack
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Detroit

 
Yes, I have. I've seen Viore branded plasma TV's at Sam's Club, Wal*Mart and Office Max. They are actually made by Akai. Wal*Mart had these for $800 on Black Friday, and that was a good deal. At $200 less this is scorching.

__________________
main rig - 2500k @ 4.8GHz, under water | P8P67 Dlx | 2x2gb HyperX blu | eVGA 9800GX2 | Corsair HX620 | 3x80gb SSD raid0, 150gb Raptor, 2x1tb raid1 | Ubuntu 13.10 / Win7 Pro
Steambox - E4400 @ 3.2GHz, TT120 | P5B | 2x1gb Super*Talent | 8400 GS | generic psu | 80gb WD | Toshiba HD-DVD | Ubuntu 13.10 & Steam
HTPC - Sempron 3400 @ 2.5GHz | ECS nForce3-A | 2x512mb DDR416 | Ti4600 | Antec EW 380 | 120gb, 250gb & 500gb drives | Ubuntu w/ XBMC
doublejack is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 01:00 PM   #5
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Um, might be a stupid question, if its a widescreen monitor why does it only support 4:3 PC input? (1024x768 max?)

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 01:22 PM   #6
Jon
Just Another Retired Moderator

 
Jon's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lawrenceville, GA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer
Um, might be a stupid question, if its a widescreen monitor why does it only support 4:3 PC input? (1024x768 max?)
HDTV isn't exactly determined by vertical resolution, although that helps in the overal picture quality. The horizontal resolution is the primary factor in HD resolution - in this case, supporting 768 pixels horizontally (720p, up to 1080i).

1024x768 is 4:3 to a computer monitor, but is capable of doing a widescreen picture via various methods.

To answer your question though, it's not HD as defined by ATSC standards.

__________________
theHTPC.net
Jon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 01:39 PM   #7
aaronjb
Member



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lobsterland

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon
HDTV isn't exactly determined by vertical resolution, although that helps in the overal picture quality. The horizontal resolution is the primary factor in HD resolution - in this case, supporting 768 pixels horizontally (720p, up to 1080i).

1024x768 is 4:3 to a computer monitor, but is capable of doing a widescreen picture via various methods.

To answer your question though, it's not HD as defined by ATSC standards.
This display is one of the few displays which uses rectangular pixels (as opposed to square on a "normal" LCD). That's how it is able to have a 16:9 aspect ratio with a 1024x768 display: Each pixel is wider than it is tall.

However, it looks like it can accept input up to 1080i and scale it to the panel's native resolution. Like all LCDs (EDIT: and plasmas , ) you're banking on the display's internal scaler to take non-native content and scale to the native resolution.

__________________
Not very active these days. PMs are the best way to reach me.

heatware


Last edited by aaronjb; 06-15-07 at 03:33 PM.
aaronjb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 02:46 PM   #8
doublejack
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Detroit

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronjb
This display is one of the few displays which uses rectangular pixels (as opposed to square on a "normal" LCD). That's how it is able to have a 16:9 aspect ratio with a 1024x768 display: Each pixel is wider than it is tall.
Correct. My Daewoo plasma is like that too, the pixels aren't square. So it's native resolution is something we'd normally consider 4:3, but it is in fact widescreen.

The scalers used with panels like these know that the pixels aren't square and take that into account when converting the input. That way the picture isn't distorted.

__________________
main rig - 2500k @ 4.8GHz, under water | P8P67 Dlx | 2x2gb HyperX blu | eVGA 9800GX2 | Corsair HX620 | 3x80gb SSD raid0, 150gb Raptor, 2x1tb raid1 | Ubuntu 13.10 / Win7 Pro
Steambox - E4400 @ 3.2GHz, TT120 | P5B | 2x1gb Super*Talent | 8400 GS | generic psu | 80gb WD | Toshiba HD-DVD | Ubuntu 13.10 & Steam
HTPC - Sempron 3400 @ 2.5GHz | ECS nForce3-A | 2x512mb DDR416 | Ti4600 | Antec EW 380 | 120gb, 250gb & 500gb drives | Ubuntu w/ XBMC
doublejack is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 02:51 PM   #9
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
For the record, almost all 42" plasmas have rectangular pixels.

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Cyber Deals
Cyber Deals NOT FOR SELLING OR TRADING!!! Hot Deals from vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?