Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Ugh...windows wont start...again

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-07, 01:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
Ha_hA_HA!
Member

 
Ha_hA_HA!'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Southern New Jersey

 
Ugh...windows wont start...again


When i try to start-up i get an error message saying "the following file is missing or corrupt: Windows\System32\Config\System".

It suggests that i can attempt a repair by using the repair feature on the windows install cd, however, I have no idea how to do this....

This all started after I disconnected my monitor (it had been working fine); once i reconnected and restarted, it gives me the above message!

I'd really like to get my pc working again, any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 4770k
Cooler: Corsair H100i
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
RAM: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB 1866/CL9
Video: Gigabyte GV-N770OC-2GD
Power: SeaSonic X-850
Case: Thermaltake Chaser A31 (White)
HD: Samsung 840 Pro 128GB / WD Blue 1TB
Op: Windows 7 Pro 64bit / Mavericks 10.9
Ha_hA_HA! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 01:52 PM   #2
oakstave

 
oakstave's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon

 
Put the OS cd in the drive, reboot from the disc, choose the 'repair' option. If it won't boot from the disc, go into the bios, (usually it's hit f8 as you start) Go into 'boot priority' screen and make your optical device the first boot priority. (It ought to be anyway.)

Although most of the time, unplugging the monitor shouldn't be a a big deal, I wouldn't unplug anything unless the system is powered down since you seemed to have a problem. By powered down, I mean off and unplugged. Maybe you had some static discharge or something...?

__________________
"If you consider the entertainment value of armageddon, the future doesn't seem all that dim."
oakstave is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 03:07 PM Thread Starter   #3
Ha_hA_HA!
Member

 
Ha_hA_HA!'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Southern New Jersey

 
Thanks for the reply. I do know how to get into the 'repair' area after booting from a cd, but I have no idea what to once i'm in there (it is a command line interface). Any idea what i type in to restore that specific file?

Oh, and the computer was powered down at the time, but not unplugged. It seems like somehow the hard drive was corrupted or damaged.

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 4770k
Cooler: Corsair H100i
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
RAM: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB 1866/CL9
Video: Gigabyte GV-N770OC-2GD
Power: SeaSonic X-850
Case: Thermaltake Chaser A31 (White)
HD: Samsung 840 Pro 128GB / WD Blue 1TB
Op: Windows 7 Pro 64bit / Mavericks 10.9
Ha_hA_HA! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 03:29 PM   #4
oakstave

 
oakstave's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon

 
Ooops. OK, I get it now. Apparently I thought i was smarter than I am. Vista repair is GUI, and it self detects errors and fixes them.

Check out these links on repairing XP:
http://www.practicalpc.co.uk/computi.../xprepair5.htm

http://www.webtree.ca/windowsxp/repair_xp.htm

You have me curious, I'll check a few things and get back to you.

Edit: OK, looks to me like the command is copy X:Windows\System32\Config\System

With X being the drive name for your CD ROM.

Y'all would be wise to check this information with someone who knows what they're doing, 'cause it ain't me. I'm a little puzzled because that's not a single corrupted dll file. I think that file is a large folder full of windows files. I don't understand how the whole thing could be corrupt. If you get it working again, back up everything Just In Case you've got a bad HD. Sorry.

__________________
"If you consider the entertainment value of armageddon, the future doesn't seem all that dim."

Last edited by oakstave; 06-15-07 at 03:44 PM.
oakstave is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 03:49 PM Thread Starter   #5
Ha_hA_HA!
Member

 
Ha_hA_HA!'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Southern New Jersey

 
Thanks, the first link you gave helped me solve my problem!

I used the " bootcfg /rebuild" command, let it do it's thing then restarted and now it works! See, you're even smarter than you thought! hehe

Thanks for the help

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 4770k
Cooler: Corsair H100i
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
RAM: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB 1866/CL9
Video: Gigabyte GV-N770OC-2GD
Power: SeaSonic X-850
Case: Thermaltake Chaser A31 (White)
HD: Samsung 840 Pro 128GB / WD Blue 1TB
Op: Windows 7 Pro 64bit / Mavericks 10.9
Ha_hA_HA! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-07, 03:56 PM   #6
oakstave

 
oakstave's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon

 
Whew! You are welcome.

Where the brain fails, Google Prevails!

__________________
"If you consider the entertainment value of armageddon, the future doesn't seem all that dim."
oakstave is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?