Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

IEexplorerer.exe what is it?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-07, 05:34 PM Thread Starter   #1
hkh
Member

 
hkh's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
IEexplorerer.exe what is it?


hey guys can anyone tell me what this process is and if its safe, it is taking upalot of my cpu 40% or more, I end it and nothing changes. I am running vista 64bit.
hkh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-07, 05:35 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkh
hey guys can anyone tell me what this process is and if its safe, it is taking upalot of my cpu 40% or more, I end it and nothing changes. I am running vista 64bit.
Ah...might want to goole that one as that doesn't sound like the original. iexplorer.exe is...

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-07, 05:40 PM   #3
Thund3rball
Member

 
Thund3rball's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia, Canada

 
YA looks like adware. I googled it and it came up with a list of sites on it. I am hesitant to post any links to a "fix" cause I don't want to be responsible... so maybe just do your own research on that.

__________________
DESKTOP
AMD 5000+ BE @ 3.2GHz
// GIGABYTE GA-MA770-DS3 // TUNIQ TOWER 120 // MUSHKIN 2x1 GB HP2-6400 // EVGA 8800GT SC // SEAGATE 3x250GB 7.2K // CORSAIR HX520 // DELL 2007WFP // RAZER Deathadder// XP

LAPTOP
DELL XPS M1530
// T7500 2.2GHz // CORSAIR 3GB 667 // SEAGATE 200GB 7.2K // 8600M GT // LG WSXGA+ // 6c BATTERY // VISTA ULT. (RED)


My Heatware
Thund3rball is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-07, 06:00 PM   #4
thefly
Member

 
thefly's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Montreal

 
Search your harddrive for the file. See where it is. It's probably some sort of adware/infection.

I had one very similar last month.

__________________
I5 W7 8 Gigs ram.
Msi Cyclone 460 1024.
Intel SSd 80g
2405 fpw
thefly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-07, 07:41 PM Thread Starter   #5
hkh
Member

 
hkh's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Thanks guys, I searched the drive and deleted it. I did google it but nothing ever came up.
hkh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-07, 07:43 PM   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkh
I did google it but nothing ever came up.
Did you hit enter?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-07, 11:48 PM   #7
tenchi86
Member

 
tenchi86's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smoky Mountains, NC

 
Google probably failed to return any results as you typed it in as "IEexplorerer.exe" while others all typed in "IEexplorer.exe", just a simple typing mistake. Anyway, as already stated it is/was safe for you to remove it. You may also want to run some Spyware/Adware scans as it is possible that others could still be on your computer.

__________________
"Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
GPU: Geforce 6600GT
HS: Zalman 7000
Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200
tenchi86 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-07, 07:46 AM   #8
Hipcrostino
Member

 
Hipcrostino's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia

 
the double "er" at the end would NOT be a mistake or seperate proccess by MS. Its a virus or adware. Kill the process, find the exec and delete it. If you don't want to delete it, simply rename the extension to .bak or similar. (IEexplorerer.exe.bak) Renaming it may not stop it executing itself though. Also check the startup system (using msconfig in XP, no idea in vista) and check it isn't being triggered on start.

The process for internet explorer is called IExplore.exe (if you don't believe me, start IE and check the processes. find IEXPLORE.exe and click end process. IE will dissapear)

there is a little info about using hijackthis here http://www.windowsbbs.com/showthread.php?t=65182&page=3 (search for explorerer.exe to find referances)

__________________
i7 2600k
Water cooled
AsRock z68 Extreme4
Corsair 1600mhz cl7 4gb
EVGA 580GTX
OCZ Revo x2 220GB
Corsair 750W PSU
2x 22" LCD monitors (1 is 120hz)
Hipcrostino is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?