Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Temperature Monitor program

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 10:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
myn
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Temperature Monitor program


Is there a temperature monitor program that shows the cpu temp always on top of what you are doing? ie- I'm playing battlefield 2 and I want to monitor my temp without alt+tab and looking at the tray...
myn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-05-07, 11:50 PM   #2
smokie mcpott
Member

 
smokie mcpott's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OKC

 
ati tray tools has that lovely feature, but i think you have to have an ati card for it to work properly

__________________
My HeaT
smokie mcpott is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-07, 12:01 AM   #3
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

10 Year Badge
 
With ATi as Mr. mcpott mentioned is Tray Tools. For nVidia there is Riva Tuner. Which will graph many apsects of your machine. Both will monitor and OSD a reading of your choice(s).

I think Fraps does it also. I am unsure if it is payware or free to use though. The two mentioned above are free to use.

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-07, 02:23 AM   #4
lenix
Member

 
lenix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
Fraps only OSDs the FPS.. Riva Tuner rocks i use Rivatuner with the Everest plugin to even get more info on the OSD while in games

__________________
Gigabyte z87x-ud3h
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 570 SC
Gigabyte 610W
Onboard sound


...::: Looking into the past is like looking in the rear-view mirror in your car. If you focus on it, you'll crash. :::...
lenix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-07, 07:19 AM   #5
smokie mcpott
Member

 
smokie mcpott's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OKC

 
buy a logitech g15 and use everest...then none of your gaming space is taken up by info

__________________
My HeaT
smokie mcpott is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-07, 09:49 AM Thread Starter   #6
myn
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Okay thanks, guys. I'm using Riva Tuner on my ATi x800xl. The statistics server shows the GPU core temp and the fps but not my processor temp... How can I get it to show proc temp?
myn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-07, 10:01 AM   #7
lenix
Member

 
lenix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
Added open source Everest.dll plugin. The plugin is able to import any monitoring data sources from Everest software and display them in RivaTuner Statistics Server's On-Screen Display. By default the plugin is configured to import 'CPU temperature', 'CPU fan speed', 'System temperature', 'System fan speed', 'PSU fan speed', 'CPU voltage', 'PSU +3.3V voltage', 'PSU +5V voltage' and 'PSU +12V voltage' data sources, however you can customize the list of imported data sources by editing Everest.cfg file. Please take a note that 'Enable shared memory' option must be ticked in Everest in File \ Preferences \ Hardware monitoring \ External applications tab to allow RivaTuner to import data from it.

From Rivatuner manual.. it works for me

1) Install Everest
2) Enable Shared memory in everest
3) Add Everest plugin in Rivatuner ( From the Hardware monitoring Setup window )
and then you'll be able to see new sensors in rivatuner

__________________
Gigabyte z87x-ud3h
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 570 SC
Gigabyte 610W
Onboard sound


...::: Looking into the past is like looking in the rear-view mirror in your car. If you focus on it, you'll crash. :::...
lenix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-06-07, 10:37 AM Thread Starter   #8
myn
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Okay thanks. That worked although the everest reading idle is 35 and my core temp program reads 28... Thats weird.

Okay but what happens when my 30 day trial of everest runs out? Can I still use the plugin through riva?
myn is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?