Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

new 8800...choppy video

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-07, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
zangler
Member

 
zangler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
new 8800...choppy video


hey guys...i just upgraded from a 6800 GT to a 8800GTS. a lot of times when i am playing a game like EVE online or something i will be running a movie on the second monitor (i.e. DIVX)...witht he 6800 this was never a problem....now the movie runs really choppy, where as before it was very nice and smooth. is there a way of fixing this? am i missing some stupid setting?

__________________
CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
HSF: Cogage TRUE
GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
PSU: Corsair hx 850w
Case: HAF 932
Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
OS: Win 7 64bit
zangler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:20 PM   #2
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
might be that your psu isnt up to the task

__________________
Asus z87-Plus
4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
Corsair Tx750 V2


" If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:20 PM   #3
SeasonalEclipse
Member

 
SeasonalEclipse's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006

 
Sounds odd. have you reinstalled drivers? I know you probably dont need to but it might be a good idea.

__________________

The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210
SeasonalEclipse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:23 PM Thread Starter   #4
zangler
Member

 
zangler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console||
might be that your psu isnt up to the task
what makes you say that? not saying i have the worlds greatest PSU or anything...but i am getting no other indicators that the PSU is a problem

__________________
CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
HSF: Cogage TRUE
GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
PSU: Corsair hx 850w
Case: HAF 932
Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
OS: Win 7 64bit
zangler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:27 PM Thread Starter   #5
zangler
Member

 
zangler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
Sounds odd. have you reinstalled drivers? I know you probably dont need to but it might be a good idea.

i did just install it yesterday...i could try going to the beta drivers or something...but not sure its it since everything else is running so nicely

__________________
CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
HSF: Cogage TRUE
GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
PSU: Corsair hx 850w
Case: HAF 932
Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
OS: Win 7 64bit
zangler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:28 PM   #6
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
because those psus are known to get worse over time the caps go , the 8800s need alot of amps how manny does your psu say is on the 12v

__________________
Asus z87-Plus
4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
Corsair Tx750 V2


" If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:39 PM   #7
SeasonalEclipse
Member

 
SeasonalEclipse's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006

 
Yeah the PSU could very well be it as well. I would try to get my hands onto someone sspare PSU, like a friend or something if you do not have one to find out if that effects anything.

__________________

The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

Last edited by SeasonalEclipse; 07-07-07 at 11:46 PM.
SeasonalEclipse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:40 PM Thread Starter   #8
zangler
Member

 
zangler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console||
because those psus are known to get worse over time the caps go , the 8800s need alot of amps how manny does your psu say is on the 12v
on +12v1 it is 18 and on +12v2 it is 15...here is the spec sheet i pulled that from...any help about this is appreciated...how would i know if im losing amps? and is there a link to the problem you speak of?

http://www.antec.com/specs/Neo480_spe.html

__________________
CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
HSF: Cogage TRUE
GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
PSU: Corsair hx 850w
Case: HAF 932
Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
OS: Win 7 64bit
zangler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:41 PM   #9
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
Yeah the PSU could very well be it as well. I would try to get my hands onto someone sspare PSU, like a friend or something if you do not have one to find out if that effects anything.
Fixed...



Quote:
Originally Posted by zangler
on +12v1 it is 18 and on +12v2 it is 15...here is the spec sheet i pulled that from...any help about this is appreciated...how would i know if im losing amps? and is there a link to the problem you speak of?

http://www.antec.com/specs/Neo480_spe.html
The only way to know is open the power supply and look...

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:43 PM   #10
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
i think the 8800 calls for 22 amps on the 12v

__________________
Asus z87-Plus
4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
Corsair Tx750 V2


" If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-07, 11:54 PM Thread Starter   #11
zangler
Member

 
zangler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
so i take it this is a common problem? any PSU recommendations? i dont have a friend with a great PSU atm...

why dont i get any other indication that my PSU is not enough for the card? gaming wise and so forth?

__________________
CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
HSF: Cogage TRUE
GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
PSU: Corsair hx 850w
Case: HAF 932
Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
OS: Win 7 64bit

Last edited by zangler; 07-07-07 at 11:59 PM.
zangler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 07:05 PM   #12
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zangler
so i take it this is a common problem? any PSU recommendations? i dont have a friend with a great PSU atm...

why dont i get any other indication that my PSU is not enough for the card? gaming wise and so forth?
Its a problem if your Power supply is over utilized. The 8800GTS requires 26A on +12v line. But that would be for an entire SYSTEM.

Just make sure you have at least 2 +12v lines, and dedicate one entirely to the GFX card. You should be ok with the power supply you have as long as you dedicate a line just to the GFX card. Else get a new power supply from ANTEC, they have some really nice ones with three +12v lines! And if you do get a new one , get a 550w or higher, its worth the few extra bucks.

My next PSU will probably be this : http://www.antec.com/us/pro_p_TPTrio.php

The 650w one ! It also comes in a 550w version for about $100 bucks...

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 07:29 PM   #13
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
No ofence but dont listen to the guy above . Get a nice strong unit not a anatec. the corsair 620 or 520 would do nice

__________________
Asus z87-Plus
4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
Corsair Tx750 V2


" If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 08:00 PM   #14
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
It could very well NOT be his powersupply. Hate to send the boy on a wild goose chase.

I've got +12v1 17.5A, +12v2 17.5 AMP=35A... just two more than him. And I have two DVD drives, a water cooling unit, two hard drives, an impressive collection of fans, an IDE-->SATA adapter, EVGA 8800GTS 640, and a C2D overclocked. All that on a Fortron Bluestorm 500.

I know it's more powerful (and better) than his power supply... but he has a lot less stuff in his system than I do. (And a faaaar less powerful CPU.)

I'm leaning more towards drivers than the PSU. If it was the PSU it would crap out on him while he was playing games and there would be other problems.

It could also be that the 8800GTS is using far more power while playing EVE online than his 6800 was (more shaders at work... etc...)

And... like console said... stay away from Antec powersupplies. I don't trust any powersupply that can be bought from Compusa.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 08:10 PM   #15
||Console||


 
||Console||'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Halifax, NS

 
I didnt say it was his cpu I said it could be . Try the drivers if that doenst work post back

__________________
Asus z87-Plus
4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
Corsair Tx750 V2


" If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn
||Console|| is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 08:14 PM   #16
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console||
I didnt say it was his cpu I said it could be . Try the drivers if that doenst work post back
I didn't say you said it was his cpu.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 08:17 PM   #17
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console||
No ofence but dont listen to the guy above . Get a nice strong unit not a anatec. the corsair 620 or 520 would do nice
I've never had any issues with Anatec , have you?

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-07, 08:18 PM   #18
Mpegger
Member

 
Mpegger's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC

10 Year Badge
 
I'd say drivers as well. Try the easy stuff first before you just go throwing money at it. Even though Nvidia drivers sould work no matter what Nvidia card you put in it (even just upgrading), its best to totally remove the previous drivers, install new card, then install drivers, even if the drivers are the same exact version.

Since you already have the card in, get the latest Forceware drivers (betas souldnt be necessary), un-install the current drivers, reboot in Safe Mode, use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove all remnants of the driver, reboot into normal Windows, and install the drivers.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 / Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 980x @ 3857 / 24GiB / 780Ti
ESXi server / i7-3770s / 32GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2

-----------------------------
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

"One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

(Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
Heatware
Mpegger is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-07, 10:42 AM Thread Starter   #19
zangler
Member

 
zangler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpegger
I'd say drivers as well. Try the easy stuff first before you just go throwing money at it. Even though Nvidia drivers sould work no matter what Nvidia card you put in it (even just upgrading), its best to totally remove the previous drivers, install new card, then install drivers, even if the drivers are the same exact version.

Since you already have the card in, get the latest Forceware drivers (betas souldnt be necessary), un-install the current drivers, reboot in Safe Mode, use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove all remnants of the driver, reboot into normal Windows, and install the drivers.
i will see what i can do about it before buying a new PSU. like i said, i have never had any problems with anything else, and run other much more demanding games (i.e. oblivion) for hours with everything on full with no hiccups or crashes or anything. thanks for the input guys.

i have also never had problems with antec stuff before, and i know this PSU is a few years old, but was very highly reviewed when it came out...im not married to antec or anything, just dont think they are garbage...least not their stuff a few years ago.


how would one dedicate a 12v line? i have 2 and have the pci-e connector going. not sure what else i can do.

__________________
CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
HSF: Cogage TRUE
GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
PSU: Corsair hx 850w
Case: HAF 932
Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
OS: Win 7 64bit
zangler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-07, 01:05 PM   #20
OcX
Member



Join Date: Sep 2005

 
What Forceware Drivers are you using? 158? 160b? 162b? I would try different drivers before I would look at the PSU. Process of Elimination.

__________________
Pentium 90hz
8MB RAM
2MB IGP
14.4k Modem
OcX is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?