Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

replacing capacitors.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-07, 01:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
replacing capacitors.


like the title says, i'm fixing my friends pc. what started as a dvd-rw upgrade, ended up costing him 175 dollars in a new motherboard and cpu. went to install the dvd-rw and things were not going according to plan, and i realized that two of his capacitors were blown up. called up my boss and he said that he would be able to replace them for 30 bucks, when he normally charges 75$. so i was like the hell with it we ordered whats here http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=518813

got in today. (We got pwned by not having 4 standoffs but not an issue)

ANYWAY

also realized that one of his capacitors on his video card might be going, and when i was trying to do a windows install, it wouldn't go if there was no fan on the graphics card (Fx5200)

MY question, after a long and pointless post, how hard is it to replace these capacitors, is it a two second job? cuz i rather not pay my boss 30 bucks just to redo something that i know takes him 5min to do. If im lucky my co-worker will do it for me when my boss has his head turned =P.
(middle)


the one to the left.(graphics card)




this is kinda obvious but this is the motherboard.

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333

Last edited by imposter; 07-14-07 at 01:25 AM.
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-07, 01:26 AM   #2
Warren G
Member

 
Warren G's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: California

10 Year Badge
 
long as u can solder then shouldnt be too hard. i replaced about 8 on one board awhile back. took me around 30-40 mins to do. only problem i remembered having was removiing the old ones. took awhile to get it out...

__________________
MSI P67a-G43
i5-2500k @ 4ghz | Heatkiller 3.0
8GB Samsung DDR3 2100
Corsair Force 3 180GB SSD
XFX 290 Unlocked | EK Waterblock + Backplate
Corsair HX850W - Corsair 650D
Black Ice II Stealth 240 | XSPC Res | MCP655
Warren G is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-07, 01:28 AM Thread Starter   #3
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
I Don't know how to solder ><. Gotta learn some how though. Im sure my friend will give me the board cuz hes not gonna need it, and the fact that i didn't charge him for anything.]


random question, that blue marker type thing they put on capacitors, is that a acid test?

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-07, 11:14 AM   #4
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
It's an extremely easy job. You'll need an iron, some wick, and some solder. First thing's first, heat up the iron and then tin the tip (apply solder directly to the tip). Then wipe excess solder off on a wet sponge. Next, heat up all of the solder joints for the capacitors (stick the iron on each joint one by one). Make sure the whole joint melts. If it doesn't, then try applying just a LITTLE solder onto the joint. If it melts, remove your iron, place wick on the joint, then apply heat to the wick (sandwich the wick between the joint and the iron). You'll see the iron turn silver, and the solder will disappear from the joint. Keep on removing all of the solder from every joint of each capacitor there is, then replace the caps. Get the new caps, and stick them through the holes. Make sure you keep the polarity the same (Caps have a stripe down the negative side). Put them in the board, and then bend the leads a bit to hold the cap in there. Apply heat to a single joint, then apply a little solder until you get a good joint. Repeat for each joint.

Look up soldering guides on google for a more in-depth explanation.

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-07, 02:12 PM   #5
Goonda
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
If you are replacing caps, replace ALL of the non-hybrids. Odds are, they are on their way out. What caps were on the board? Looks like OST to me.
Goonda is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-07, 11:01 PM   #6
Skeith
Member

 
Skeith's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba

 
$30 to replace caps?!!! Thats freakin robbery.

caps can be bought for pennies online and require no more than a soldering iron to replace, takes like 15 minutes to recap a board. Thats just sick!

__________________
File Server:
AMD Semperon 2500+ @ 2104.3MHz (10.5 x 200) 1.9v | ABIT NF7-Sv2 Mobo - Tai Pan Bios | WD 20GB IDE (System) - Seagate 320GB SATA (Storage)
xfx NVIDIA Ge-force 5200 128MB 333Mhz/500Mhz (Vcore 1.70v/Vmem 3.00v) | 1024MB DDR Dual Channel (2x512 PC3200) UltraValue 2.5-2-2-7

Web Server:
Dual PIII 450/256/100/2.0 | 768MB PC100 SDRAM | 6.4GB Quantum Fireball (main) | 6.4GB WD Caviar (FTP Storage)

Laptop: -Dell Inspiron 6400-
Intel Core2Duo 1.66GHz | 2x512MB DDR2 667MHz RAM | 120GB SATA HDD 7200RPM | ATI x1400 Mobility 256MB PCIe Graphics | Creative Soundblaster HD MB


I don't care about what it was designed to do. I care about what it CAN do!
Skeith is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-07, 11:22 PM Thread Starter   #7
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeith
$30 to replace caps?!!! Thats freakin robbery.

caps can be bought for pennies online and require no more than a soldering iron to replace, takes like 15 minutes to recap a board. Thats just sick!
he normally charges 75 =p.

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 10:31 AM   #8
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
I say hit your boss over the head

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 10:56 AM   #9
Goonda
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeith
caps can be bought for pennies online and require no more than a soldering iron to replace, takes like 15 minutes to recap a board. Thats just sick!
That depends on the type and rating of the caps you are buying. On an Antec SP recap, I bought caps for about $40. All were UCC/NCC, Nichion and Panasonic FM series. Ofcourse, the primary cans proved to be the most expensive.

Working on multi-layered PCB's is simple but not trivial. Avoiding cold solder joints and doing a clean job takes a bit of practice, especially if the vias are not deep enough.
Goonda is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 11:59 AM Thread Starter   #10
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
he picks off the caps off the grave yard of dead motherboards we got. lol.

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 03:13 PM   #11
Goonda
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Well, odds are he picked up Fujhyyu's, OST's or Chiss's.
Goonda is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 03:15 PM Thread Starter   #12
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goonda
Well, odds are he picked up Fujhyyu's, OST's or Chiss's.
I guess those are types of caps? whats the difference?

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 03:51 PM   #13
Goonda
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by imposter
I guess those are types of caps? whats the difference?
They are crap.
Goonda is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-07, 04:34 PM   #14
jrafael
Registered

 
jrafael's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

 
check over www.badcaps.net
for good info and guides, they also sell cap kits for mobos
jrafael is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-07, 12:44 PM   #15
Roofles
Member

 
Roofles's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brew City

 
The only way I could see this being difficult is if those are surface mount caps where the leads would be under the capacitor itself. Most likely this is not the case and they are through hole, which is easy as pie to do.

__________________
Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

"If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics
Roofles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-07, 10:01 PM   #16
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
You can't do it with a low watt iron, other than that it's pretty easy.

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-07, 10:10 PM Thread Starter   #17
imposter
Member

 
imposter's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bronx,newyork

10 Year Badge
 
Alright, After i get this monitor replaced (different issue) im going to look into buying these caps + soldering kit. then ill have a 1.6 ghz cpu mobo to fold or go to classifieds. (if it works of course)

__________________
HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
Have one on the house.
"Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
-Ben333
imposter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-07, 10:17 PM   #18
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
find a piece of junk hardware to practice soldering on at first, remove and reattach a few components I suggest until you're comfortable with it. Once you learn it's very easy if you have a steady hand. I've fixed dozens of motherboards and have never killed anything, patients is the key to a good end result.

Once you're done you'll be kicking yourself in the butt for ever paying someone to do it for you

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-07, 01:47 PM   #19
Goonda
Member



Join Date: Jun 2007

 
With SMD, the key is to have an iron hot enough to allow quick flow of Solder.
Goonda is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-07, 02:15 PM   #20
Brando
Member

 
Brando's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandonia

 
Is it ok to replace normal caps with those newfangled solid state caps?

__________________
[]Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

SELLER FEEDBACK

PROLIMATECH MK-26 VGA COOLER FOR SALE

A FEW FANS FOR SALE
Brando is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?