• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Where do you get your ideas ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

asusradeon

Hi, just wondering where people get there ideas from of applications to try and develop.. i want something to work on but as usual i have no idea of anything to do...

Most of my ideas come from something that needs to be done, or something that would make my life a little easier. For example, I've been keeping track of my bank account inside an Excel spreadsheet. But I want to see stuff like how much gas did I use in May or how much did we go out to eat last month. So instead of sorting it and resorting it everytime I made a little program that I can press a button and it does it for me.

i suppose thats great if your an expirenced developer but im just learning i start an apprenticeship in a month where i will be getting proper training but im just trying to learn as much as i can until then...

I know exactly how you feel there. I have many long term goals in programming but in order to accomplish them it is best that I work on a lot of smaller projects. But, what projects to work on?

Usually what I do is just find some old videa/computer game I used to play when I was 12 and clone it.

Also, if you're looking to be a professional programmer, you could join an open source project. There are litterally thousands and many, many of them can use a little help. An open source project is the next best thing to actual on-the-job experience you can get in the software world.