Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

menu.lst DESTROYED, now what?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-07, 07:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
menu.lst DESTROYED, now what?


I'm too furious to go into details right now. Here's where I am. DSL destroyed my menu.lst and backup so nothing boots now. How do I fix this!?!?!? I probably could dope it out but I'm looking for a fast solution. I'm too busy concentrating on not going berserk to think right now so if someone could just spoon feed me an answer I won't wind up doing time in a mental health facility and you will have my gratitude.

thank you.

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-07, 08:44 PM   #2
Misfit138

 
Misfit138's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jersey

 
Boot into a live cd, mount your drive and create a new /boot/grub/menu.lst.

You can use the one from the live cd as a guide.

So say your hard drive with the broken grub is sda1. Just do

mkdir /mnt/disk
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/disk

cd /mnt/disk/boot/grub

and then

nano menu.lst

EDIT heres a loose guide as to what to put in there:

timeout 5
default 0
# TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
# (0) Linux on sata a
title Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/devsda1 ro vga=773
initrd /boot/kernel26.img


__________________
archlinux: Power in simplicity.
Amiga 1000 microATX mod

Last edited by Misfit138; 07-19-07 at 08:50 PM.
Misfit138 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-07, 10:36 PM   #3
aaa
Member



Join Date: Jun 2006

 
If you still get this:

grub>

Then you can enter what was in the menu.lst by hand to boot stuff. With a 'boot' command to run what you just typed.
aaa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-07, 02:49 AM   #4
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
We can write one for you easily enough if you provide us with the details of your partitioning scheme (which os's on which partition, names of kernels, etc.) I don't know any easier fix.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-07, 09:13 AM Thread Starter   #5
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I've calmed down, and am a little bit less insane at this point. I'm closer to my happy place now so I'll plug away at it myself for a bit before I ask for more help.

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-07, 10:11 AM   #6
splat
ASCII Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
splat's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philly

10 Year Badge
 
i'm not 100% sure, but the DSL cd might have a menu.lst on it (that it copies over when you do a hdd install), so you might be able to simply copy that over. at any rate, as was stated above, if you get to teh grub prompt, you can insert the commands manually to get in to the system, then recreate your menu.lst.

__________________
______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
_______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
_________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
__/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
_____________/\/\___________
once you clock you can't go stock
[RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group

splat is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-07, 11:12 AM   #7
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
This is why you should never, ever let automatic installers mess with your boot loader. Always set it up yourself. Just learn how to use grub and write your own grub files, and each time you add a new os, just add a new entry for it in your grub.conf file.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-07, 06:47 PM   #8
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRD
This is why you should never, ever let automatic installers mess with your boot loader. Always set it up yourself. Just learn how to use grub and write your own grub files, and each time you add a new os, just add a new entry for it in your grub.conf file.
Oh, we Gentoo users have it so good—no automation messing with our stuff

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-07, 12:11 AM Thread Starter   #9
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Well, thanks to my own little bit of knowledge on Linux, Google, and a whole lot of patience, skill and assistance from MRD, I am now posting from Ubuntu again!! And that DSL CD is going to meet with a little accident in the next day or two......

Much public thanks to MRD!

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-07, 12:39 AM   #10
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by eobard
Well, thanks to my own little bit of knowledge on Linux, Google, and a whole lot of patience, skill and assistance from MRD, I am now posting from Ubuntu again!! And that DSL CD is going to meet with a little accident in the next day or two......

Much public thanks to MRD!
Out of curiosity, does Ubuntu by default set you up with a separate /boot partition? And does it mark this partition as automount?

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-07, 01:33 AM   #11
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
Multiboot is something best handled manually. Trust any system to set it all up automagically and never break anything and you are asking for trouble. Learn Grub. Love Grub. Grub is your friend.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-22-07, 02:51 AM Thread Starter   #12
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
Out of curiosity, does Ubuntu by default set you up with a separate /boot partition? And does it mark this partition as automount?
Well mine isn't on a seperate partition, and I don't remember altering the default configuration when I installed it, which was a while ago, but I'm going to speculatively presume that it does not default to a seperate partition for /boot.

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?