Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Unable to overclock, really, sliders stuck! (7900GT)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-07, 11:36 AM Thread Starter   #1
Vipasnipa
Member

 
Vipasnipa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salem, OR

 
Unable to overclock, really, sliders stuck! (7900GT)


So the summer has been pretty dry as far as PC gaming goes, so I haven't done much fiddling around with my video card. Yesterday I started up Overlord and went to check out ATITools while Overlord was running in the background: Strange, the clocks were at the default 2D level (450 gpu, 650 mem). Shut off Overlord and tried to load one of my overclocked profiles (620 gpu, 850 mem), but nothing happened. The sliders were stuck at default. Tried moving them up and setting, and nothing. The clocks would not budge from 2D mode.

Figuring it was a problem with ATITool (which I have used very successfully to overlock this card), I closed it and loaded up RivaTuner - No matter what clock I set for either GPU or mem, RivaTuner reported that it failed testing. Even setting it below the 2D default, it would not pass the test. Tried again with NVtuner and no go, clocks stuck. After a few restarts, reseating the card, making sure nothing was running in overlay mode that might interfere with testing new clock speeds, running different DX9 and OpenGL games, I'm stumped. The card seems stuck in 2D clocks mode.

Has anyone ever experienced this before? Any ideas?

__________________

Hotbox................................................Tania
Shuttle SX38P2-Pro.............................Shuttle K45
Shuttle 450W......................................Shuttle 100W
E8400 C0 @ 3.0GHz............................E5200 M0 @ 2.5GHz
Shuttle X38P2.....................................Shuttle 945GC
G.SKILL DDR2 4x1GB @ 800MHz ........G.SKILL DDR2 2x1GB @ 667MHz
Sapphire 5850 1024MB.......................Intel GMA 950
Vipasnipa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-07, 12:03 PM   #2
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Not sure about Nvidia but ATI cards will always show 2D clocks when there is no graphic intensive app being run. Perhaps Nvidia does the same thing.

Even when you alt-tab or minimize a game all you will see is 2D clock speeds as thats all thats being used when you are not actually in the app.

As for your other issues, I cannot say.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-07, 07:24 PM Thread Starter   #3
Vipasnipa
Member

 
Vipasnipa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salem, OR

 
Fixed.

Reinstalled the drivers.

I'm curious what caused this though.

__________________

Hotbox................................................Tania
Shuttle SX38P2-Pro.............................Shuttle K45
Shuttle 450W......................................Shuttle 100W
E8400 C0 @ 3.0GHz............................E5200 M0 @ 2.5GHz
Shuttle X38P2.....................................Shuttle 945GC
G.SKILL DDR2 4x1GB @ 800MHz ........G.SKILL DDR2 2x1GB @ 667MHz
Sapphire 5850 1024MB.......................Intel GMA 950
Vipasnipa is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?