• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid 1 Configuration Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rallyfan1986

Hi, I'm fairly new to computers, so if my questions seems a bit stupid... thats why!

I'm looking to setup a raid 1 configuration in my computer, I currently have 1 hdd, with two partitions (C and D), I have the windows and program files on the C drive, and all my music and videos on the D drive.

My question is, with a raid 1 configuration, will it back up all the information on both partitions, effectively creating an exact copy of my current hard drive, or will it only back up one of the partitions.

thanks in advance

Hi, I'm fairly new to computers, so if my questions seems a bit stupid... thats why!

I'm looking to setup a raid 1 configuration in my computer, I currently have 1 hdd, with two partitions (C and D), I have the windows and program files on the C drive, and all my music and videos on the D drive.

My question is, with a raid 1 configuration, will it back up all the information on both partitions, effectively creating an exact copy of my current hard drive, or will it only back up one of the partitions.

thanks in advance
You can't RAID two partitions that are on the same HDD.

If you have two drives that are exactly the same in a RAID1, they are called "mirrored". What you write to one, writes to the other. This does not create a "backup" but rather saves you in case of a HDD physical failure (the drive dies).

:welcome: to the forums!! :D

Thanks for the quick reply,

What would you recommend I should do to keep a constant back up of all my data? As I have all my university work, and music on my computer, which I really don't want to loose!

Thanks for the quick reply,