• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Vista

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Marinco

Disabled
Im a noob so bare with me :)

What is honestly the difference between like x32 x64 and x86.

and if i were to get one of those, would i beable to run games still?

Some good searching would answer those questions but I will try to explain this to you as simply as I can. Basically x32 and x86 are the same and x64 is 64 bit. x86 is used more in reference to CPU's and x32 is used more in reference to operating systems but the are bot 32 bit. With vista 64 bit can be a little pain at times due to the requirement of having signed drivers so if you have 2 gigs of ram or less stick with 32 bit for now. And yes you can run games in vista 32 bit and 64 bit.

Can you give some specs of your system like cpu type and amount of ram. Maybe I can tell you a little more from that.

i have a E6450 2.13ghz duel core processor. 1 x2gb crucial memory. because i dont really NEED vista, but, it would be neat to have, and i want to make sure its worth it to get, dont want to waste my money and time on something that i wont beable to use

thanks for your help btw :)

Well with that processor and with 2 gigs of ram you might be better off to just go with 32 bit just to avoid the driver issues that I mentioned before. Your processor will support 64 bit though so you could go wither way. Some people will tell you that you shouldnt get vista but I have it on two computers and I like it. I do have an issue here and there but overall I like it more than xp. Its nowhere near being a perfect operating system but like I said it is in my opinion an improvement.

i guess ill go with the 32bit version just because from what i HAVE read, lots fewer problems so,

i appreciate your help :)