Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

What are all the diffrences between each variety of P5K mobo?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-07, 10:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
OBLIVIONLORD
Member

 
OBLIVIONLORD's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
What are all the diffrences between each variety of P5K mobo?


I can find 1 damn site that shows the diffrences for each and every one of the versions. The versions on Newegg are...

P5K-SE
P5K-VM
P5K
P5K-V
P5K-E
P5K-WS
P5K-Deluxe
P5K-Premium
P5k3-Premium

That's alot of diffrent freaking model's. So perhaps someone would enlighten me please. Thanks
OBLIVIONLORD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 08-29-07, 11:16 AM   #2
Maverick0984
Member

 
Maverick0984's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago

 
P5K Premium (DDR2) = P5K3 Premium (DDR3) > P5K Deluxe > All the rest.
Maverick0984 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-07, 11:54 AM Thread Starter   #3
OBLIVIONLORD
Member

 
OBLIVIONLORD's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
http://techgage.com/article/asus_p5k_deluxe_wifi-ap/1

According to this site they say that the P5k3 = P5k Deluxe except with added DDR3 support. Nothing else that entirely separates itself from the P5K3. This review was done after the P5K3 review.

The P5k Premium seems to be the big DDR2 guy in town because...
http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...readid=2077518

Storage:
Deluxe
Southbridge Supports Raid 0 and 1
Premium
Southbridge Supports Raid 0, 1, 5 and 10

Audio:
Premium adds ASUS AI Audio 2

Deluxe: Memory Standard DDR2 1066 / 800 / 667 MHz The chipset officially supports the memory frequency up to DDR2 800MHz. Tuned by ASUS Super Memspeed Technology, this motherboard natively supports up to DDR2 1066MHz

Premium: DDR2 1066

"Asus changed all the power mosfet around the socket,added some capacitors around the pcb and first of all added a mosfet on the ddr2 channel. In the p5k deluxe there's only 1 mosfet for 4 channels with some problems of stability. With premium there're 2 mosfet. Asus declared that with this solution the new premium can work stable with ram over 1400 mhz!"

It appears that for DDR2 the Premium is better than the Deluxe.

Newegg sells the Deluxe for $10 cheaper than the Premium. Much better buy to go with the Premium instead of the Deluxe.
OBLIVIONLORD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-07, 12:37 PM   #4
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Deluxe Southbridge Supports Raid 0 and 1
I'm running RAID 5 on my southbridge.

Unfortunately, I got the Deluxe right before they came out with the Premium. The only real difference is the power circuitry. Which sucks, because now the resale value of my board is virtually $0.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-07, 01:54 PM Thread Starter   #5
OBLIVIONLORD
Member

 
OBLIVIONLORD's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
What about the other versions of the PK5 that I listed above? I still cant find a site that compares them all.
OBLIVIONLORD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-07, 02:07 PM   #6
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
The P5K is essentially the same as the deluxe, but has the ICH9 southbridge instead of the ICH9R. The P5K-WS is a workstation model that has 64-bit PCI slots, which are often used for high-bandwidth add-on cards like gigabit network controllers and RAID solutions. The P5K-E appears to be like the P5K-Deluxe, but with one less gigabit LAN controller.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-07, 05:46 PM   #7
v8440
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hell, AL

 
Do these boards support intel matrix raid? If so, is matrix raid using the fastest portion of the drives for raid 0 still the hot ticket like it was several months ago?

__________________
E6300 at 3.36 GHz
tuniq tower 120
p5b plus board
fsb at 480 MHz
2 gig crucial ballistix 800MHz ddr2 at 470 MHz
8800 Ultra at default speeds
4 320 mb perp drives in matrix raid 0/10
pc p & c 750w power supply
v8440 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-07, 06:54 PM   #8
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Every board with the ICH9R chipset (P5K Premium and Deluxe, maybe others) will support it. I still think it's a good choice. Mine is running great.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-07, 07:01 PM   #9
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
There are some noted problems w/ ICH9R RAID on the P5K Premium (me included). A future BIOS may remedy this issue, but for now you may want to be wary.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 09:14 AM   #10
Maverick0984
Member

 
Maverick0984's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
There are some noted problems w/ ICH9R RAID on the P5K Premium (me included). A future BIOS may remedy this issue, but for now you may want to be wary.
I've heard of this from GTengineer and now you, although I've had no problems. Granted I'm only running RAID1, so I dunno.
Maverick0984 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 09:46 AM   #11
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick0984 View Post
I've heard of this from GTengineer and now you, although I've had no problems. Granted I'm only running RAID1, so I dunno.
From what I've read only some brands of HDDs are affected. Seagates seem to be immune, but my WD's don't want to do RAID 0. They are working fine in AHCI mode at the moment...better than some of the guys on Asus forum.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 04:03 PM   #12
fritzman
Member

 
fritzman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand

10 Year Badge
 
Intersting. So far, I've had no prob's with either Seagate perp's in a matrix R0/R5 mix or my 3xraptor matrix R0.

Great board tho.

__________________
Office Rig : 3770k (4.5@1.25vcore), H100, EVGA Z77 FTW, 2 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, 240Gb Revo3x2 with W8 Pro 64-bit, Antec P180 case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
WHS : Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Velo 600Gb running WHS2011, LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6
fritzman is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 04:58 PM   #13
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
The Asus forums have led me to believe it isn't all WD drives...in fact the point out the Raptors work fine. So fritzman, you may have gotten lucky. I'm not too worried, though, b/c single-drive AHCI is working well enough for now. I plan on Matrixing some Barracudas anyway, so when (4 months?) I get them they (hopefully) won't give me any problems. By then newer drivers/BIOS's may have been released anyway.

I was previously considering RMAing this board and trying to get a DFI board, but I read some reviews, and they led me to believe I won't get a higher OC w/ my chip. The RAID on the DFI may very well give me the same problem I'm having w/ this board. It costs quite a bit more too. I'd rather save that $ towards some Barracudas. At this speed my biggest bottlenecks are the HDD(s), and my Internet connection.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 05:37 PM   #14
fritzman
Member

 
fritzman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks

I have 3 of those new Seagate ES 32Mb cache 500Gb drives on backorder... they look NICE!

__________________
Office Rig : 3770k (4.5@1.25vcore), H100, EVGA Z77 FTW, 2 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, 240Gb Revo3x2 with W8 Pro 64-bit, Antec P180 case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
WHS : Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Velo 600Gb running WHS2011, LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6
fritzman is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 06:29 PM   #15
v8440
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hell, AL

 
So it's a good bet that 4 perps in raid 5 or 10 won't give trouble with this board?

Also, is it likely to be worth it to spring for the ddr3 version? How much real-life gain do you get from ddr3 vs ddr2?

And finally, I want to run my OS and apps off a 4 drive raid 0 array. However, I would like the system to automatically mirror all that data on a non-raid 0 setup of some sort. Am I right in thinking that intel matrix raid 0/5 or 0/10 can do that? I don't want to have to do anything, I want on-the-fly mirroring. I certainly don't mind devoting the disk space to it, just need to know if it works this way.

__________________
E6300 at 3.36 GHz
tuniq tower 120
p5b plus board
fsb at 480 MHz
2 gig crucial ballistix 800MHz ddr2 at 470 MHz
8800 Ultra at default speeds
4 320 mb perp drives in matrix raid 0/10
pc p & c 750w power supply
v8440 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 06:46 PM   #16
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
You can't get on-the-fly mirroring unless you're running some kind of RAID 1 solution. If you wanted 4-drive RAID 0 mirrored, you'll need to run 8-drive RAID 10. Otherwise, the drive doing the mirroring can't keep up with the data array. I run a 3-drive RAID 0/RAID 5 Matrix RAID with automated backups every night.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 06:53 PM   #17
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8440 View Post
So it's a good bet that 4 perps in raid 5 or 10 won't give trouble with this board?

Also, is it likely to be worth it to spring for the ddr3 version? How much real-life gain do you get from ddr3 vs ddr2?

And finally, I want to run my OS and apps off a 4 drive raid 0 array. However, I would like the system to automatically mirror all that data on a non-raid 0 setup of some sort. Am I right in thinking that intel matrix raid 0/5 or 0/10 can do that? I don't want to have to do anything, I want on-the-fly mirroring. I certainly don't mind devoting the disk space to it, just need to know if it works this way.
Perps should be fine according to what I've read.

Forget DDR3 for now. No real world gain at current timings, and way too pricey!

Yes, you can have what you want w/ the Matrix RAID. Take the fastest slice from each HDD for the RAID 0 array, and put the rest in RAID 5 if you want the space. You can put an image of your RAID 0 on the RAID 5 (or 10) array and recover fairly easily if a drive fails. Read the Matrix RAID sticky for details.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-07, 06:56 PM   #18
v8440
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hell, AL

 
Ok, it appears that I can't actually get real-time mirroring without an unreasonable (to me) expenditure on disks. I guess the next best thing would be the previous poster's idea of nightly backups. This could be done automatically I presume? Probably with any of a number of programs...

As you guys can see, I've never messed with raid before.

__________________
E6300 at 3.36 GHz
tuniq tower 120
p5b plus board
fsb at 480 MHz
2 gig crucial ballistix 800MHz ddr2 at 470 MHz
8800 Ultra at default speeds
4 320 mb perp drives in matrix raid 0/10
pc p & c 750w power supply
v8440 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?