Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Signs of a failing PSU

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-07, 07:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
Signs of a failing PSU


Recently my computer started deciding to turn itself off randomly. I figured it may have been my video card that I may or may not have fudged with some of my tinkering; so I took it out. I replaced the card with a test card that I have lying around and I know is fine. Again, my computer is turning itself off. I go the next step and try another motherboard that I got back from an old RMA and I am positive it is fine. Again, my computer turns itself off. I know it can't be the processor because I just got a brand spanking new Opteron 170 from Newegg. So my last guess is the PSU. In the bios the voltages all look nominal: the 12v is at 12.14v, the 3v is at 3.15v, the 5v is at 5.13....sooooooooo, I have yet to read the voltages with a multimeter or while in Windows, but I'm out of ideas.....Could it possibly be my PSU?

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-07, 09:26 PM   #2
maxfly
Member

 
maxfly's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: GlassCity USA

 
it may be worth a shot to give memtest86+ a try.if you can remove the memory from the mix id say it would most likely be your psu taking its last gasps.any chance you can try a known working psu in your rig?

__________________

I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
EK Supreme HF
DD GTX580
XSPC RX360

HEAT
maxfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 12:04 AM   #3
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by striker85 View Post
Recently my computer started deciding to turn itself off randomly. I figured it may have been my video card that I may or may not have fudged with some of my tinkering; so I took it out. I replaced the card with a test card that I have lying around and I know is fine. Again, my computer is turning itself off. I go the next step and try another motherboard that I got back from an old RMA and I am positive it is fine. Again, my computer turns itself off. I know it can't be the processor because I just got a brand spanking new Opteron 170 from Newegg. So my last guess is the PSU. In the bios the voltages all look nominal: the 12v is at 12.14v, the 3v is at 3.15v, the 5v is at 5.13....sooooooooo, I have yet to read the voltages with a multimeter or while in Windows, but I'm out of ideas.....Could it possibly be my PSU?
Do the Memtest86 test first. What brand of power supply?

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 07:12 AM Thread Starter   #4
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
Its a Rosewill 500 watt PSU

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 07:20 AM   #5
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
How long ago did you get it?

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 07:43 AM   #6
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by striker85 View Post
Its a Rosewill 500 watt PSU
Striker,

Your symptoms are very similar to a power supply problem, Rosewill's not the best. It's just as easy to make a bootable disk or CD and run Memtest86 for 4-5 full passes to clear that option out of the way and take a few readings with a DMM while you're at it.

It does sound like the power supply..........

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 09:16 AM Thread Starter   #7
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
I just ran memtest for a full 2 hours, or three passes, and got zero errors. The power supply is a little old, I got it when I first upgraded to 939 about 3 or so years ago.

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 10:22 AM   #8
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
Old rosewill PSUs weren't great.


Sounds like you need a new PSU.



Corsair HX520

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 10:23 AM   #9
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by striker85 View Post
I just ran memtest for a full 2 hours, or three passes, and got zero errors. The power supply is a little old, I got it when I first upgraded to 939 about 3 or so years ago.
Striker,

I think everyone commenting will agree that it looks like your power supply needs to be replaced. It's the only thing left. There are a lot of good ones that won't break the bank depending on your budget. You don't need a large capacity high wattage monster.

Wait and see if there are any other comments here. We all have a short list of good power supplies that can be posted for you. James listed a good one but there are less expensive ones depending on what you want to spend.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 10:36 AM   #10
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 01:55 PM Thread Starter   #11
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
What kind of wattage is good for a computer like mine? I did that power calculator but it says I only use 350 watts. I'd like to leave room for a possible crossfire upgrade, or more memory, or more hard drives, or even more fans.

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 02:42 PM   #12
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
500-600W if you want some headroom.


hint hx520 hint

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 04:22 PM Thread Starter   #13
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
That Corsair is just more money than I want to spend right now. I am eye-balling this Mushkin one though: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817812002

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 04:26 PM   #14
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Crossfire go with 1900xt.

It's not worth it to go crossfire imo.

Corsair 520W if you might plan on doing it though.

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 04:31 PM   #15
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
No go on the Mushkin. Doesn't perform well.

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #16
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
What are the brands I should stick to? I saw in the sticky the ones to avoid...

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 04:45 PM   #17
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Less money than Mushkin after shipping and less less after MIR.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...stealthXstream

You really have to check out the reviews on the PSU's along with the trusted PSU company list which is somewhere...

*btw only 3 SATA powers

1 x Main connector (20+4Pin)
1 x 12V(4/8Pin)
6 x peripheral
3 x SATA
2 x Floppy
2 x PCI-E

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 04:49 PM   #18
ffzen
Member

 
ffzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NY

 
hx520 @clubit for $90 AR, 2 rebate forms

Actually, buy.com $90 w/GCO, no rebates
ffzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 05:10 PM Thread Starter   #19
striker85
Member

 
striker85's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut

 
Awesome. Nice find, ffzen. I'm biting the bullet and getting that hx520.

__________________
Heatware Ebay
Rusty:
Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H (Rev. 1.0)
AMD Phenom II 720 (unlocked to 4 cores and oc'd to 3.3 ghz)
4GB Generic DDR2 (oc'd to 940mhz)
XFX HD5670
Corsair 520W PSU
striker85 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-07, 05:20 PM   #20
ffzen
Member

 
ffzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NY

 
if you're getting it from buy.com, make sure you choose
Free Budget shipping. Sometimes they default it to 3-5 day shipping and
people end up paying for shipping.
ffzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?