Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Confused about GA-P35-DS3R Memory FSB

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-07, 03:21 PM Thread Starter   #1
PCSOFTN
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Confused about GA-P35-DS3R Memory FSB


I have a GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R with a Q6600. When I do a 3.0 Ghz overclock, I increase my CPU FSB from 266 to 333. Thats a 67Mhz increase. I thought that increase would carry over to my 667 Mhz memory, adding 67X2=134 to my 667 equaling 801 Mhz. My MB Bios shows the new memory FSB as 833 Mhz. This is verified by CPU-Z. Why the difference in the the 833 vs 801 Mhz?
PCSOFTN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 04:20 PM   #2
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
You are running it on the divider. 1:1 will give you 666, 4:5 will give you 833. (2x FSB)/(Divider)= (2x333)/(4/5)=833. You adding does not add up becasue of divider which you should divide. Increase in FSB by 67 (from 266 to 333). (2x67)/(4/5)=167.

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE

Last edited by meionm; 09-21-07 at 05:42 PM.
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 05:04 PM Thread Starter   #3
PCSOFTN
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Does that mean if I have the SPD in the Bios set to Auto, the MB is going to choose a divider that will get the FSB for the memory as close to the memory specification? I am somewhat of a newbe so I don't have a good understanding of memory dividers. I am probably coming off as an idiot, but what would be the divider if I were to overclock 800 Mhz memory. What speed would 800 Mhz memory need to be capable of?

Last edited by PCSOFTN; 09-21-07 at 10:37 PM.
PCSOFTN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 07:32 PM   #4
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
There are memories that are underrated, like pc5400 capable of running speeds of pc6400. The best way for you, since you are overclocking memory too, to set divider manually. Also use memtest86 to see if there is no errors at that speed.

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 10:39 PM   #5
ffzen
Member

 
ffzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NY

 
if you select 2.0 instead of auto for the spd, then your ram will run 1:1
ffzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 10:39 PM Thread Starter   #6
PCSOFTN
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Based on the above calculations I can get two different speeds if I calculate a 4/5 divider for overclocking 800 Mhz memory. If I use a 4/5 divider and use the formula (2X467)/(4/5)=1167 or if I use (2X67)/(4/5)=167+800=967. Which would be the correct speed?
PCSOFTN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 10:43 PM Thread Starter   #7
PCSOFTN
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffzen View Post
if you select 2.0 instead of auto for the spd, then your ram will run 1:1
When I look at the bios the next memory setting up from auto is 2.5.
PCSOFTN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 10:50 PM   #8
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCSOFTN View Post
Based on the above calculations I can get two different speeds if I calculate a 4/5 divider for overclocking 800 Mhz memory. If I use a 4/5 divider and use the formula (2X467)/(4/5)=1167 or if I use (2X67)/(4/5)=167+800=967. Which would be the correct speed?
(2x467)/(4/5)=1168

The second one is not necessary. It was just to show if you increase fsb by so much, what kind of increase you would get on memory. It relates to your first post when you were adding 134 to 667.

If fsb is 467, then it is increased by 201

(2x201)/(4/5)=502+666=1168

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-07, 10:56 PM   #9
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCSOFTN View Post
When I look at the bios the next memory setting up from auto is 2.5.
It should be further down


__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-07, 12:16 AM Thread Starter   #10
PCSOFTN
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by meionm View Post
It should be further down

Sorry I missed it? Thank you for your help and putting up with a newbe.
PCSOFTN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-10, 09:19 PM   #11
mrshine59
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Please help me overclock my Q6600 and DDR2-1066 PC2-8500 Corsair Dominators


Quote:
Originally Posted by PCSOFTN View Post
Sorry I missed it? Thank you for your help and putting up with a newbe.
Hi guys,

I'm really noob in overclocking my GA-EP35C-DS3R mobo with Q6600 and 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-1066 Corsair Dominators (PC2-8500). What I need help on is how to overclock it with the correct settings. This isn't my first time overclocking, but I can't seem to understand or get it right. I was told that the Dominators are better and faster when dropped to 800mhz instead of 1066mhz. I pasted the current settings I have with CPU-z. I just want to know if I have the correct voltage settings on my Ram and CPU to keep the overclock stable. As of right now my timings for the rams are 4-4-4-12 with a ram multiplier of 2.00 (as stated above) and my q6600@3.6ghz with multiplier of x9 and FSB is at 400. As of right now I everything seems stable i haven't seen a jump or change in the core speed...but then i'm not sure if cpu-z froze. Let me know if i have everything set up correctly. I'm not too sure but my FSBDR ratio is 1:1

mrshine59 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-10, 11:59 AM   #12
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
At the current FSB of 400MHz, change the MCH Strap / Latch from 2.00D to 2.66D for an effective 1064MHz DRAM frequency. Also change the four primary RAM timings from 4-4-4-12 to 5-5-5-15-2T, and manually change the DRAM voltage to match what Corsair spec's the RAM to run at. And the only things we can see from the single pic. you posted are the current Vcore, FSB, and multiplier. In order for us to see the current FSB : DRAM ratio, you'll need to post a pic. of CPU-Z open to the 'Memory' tab. Also post a pic. w/ it open to the 'SPD' tab, so we can see what the SPD timings and voltage are at DDR2-1066MHz.


Last edited by redduc900; 01-04-10 at 12:31 PM.
redduc900 is online now   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?