Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

I Have Another Question Regarding A Dell Optiplex GX 260

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-07, 10:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
AMD K6
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Question I Have Another Question Regarding A Dell Optiplex GX 260


Are all Pentium 4 chips the same size? I would like to upgrade my 1.8GHZ to a 2.6 Ghz and, was wondering if I need to look for a certain model number for the Dell Optiplex GX 260.

Here are the specs of the PC

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...cs.htm#1110653

Thank you,
AMD K6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-07, 10:44 AM   #2
djrussell
Member

 
djrussell's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: everett, wa

 
load cpu-z. it will tell you what socket your cpu is. as long as you match that and the chipset supports it, you're good. research what cpus the intel 845G set accomodates. you could skip that if you're staying in the P4 family.

__________________
x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
GB ga-m61p-s3
2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
rosewill stallion 500w
raidmax sagitta case
powercolor HD3870 PCS
djrussell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-07, 10:51 AM Thread Starter   #3
AMD K6
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Thanks for the reply.

Well, I don't have the Computer just yet (It is being delivered to my home as I type) so, I can't examine it.

I would like to stay with the Pentium 4 family. So, can I buy any Pentium 4 processor providing it doesn't exceed 2.6 GHZ?

Thank you.
AMD K6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-07, 11:07 AM   #4
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
It's not quite that simple. You need a Northwood core, socket 478, with no HT, and it needs to be either 400 or 533fsb. It will not support Prescott cores. (Well... it will with an expensive Powerleap modded dealy, but that's not really worth it.) The best you're prolly gonna do is the 2.8ghz, 533fsb chip, there was a 3ghz model that will work, but it's pretty much impossible to find and would be horrifically expensive even if you did.

And update to the latest bios before switching the processor.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-07, 11:22 AM Thread Starter   #5
AMD K6
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Thanks.

I see a few on Ebay (That's where I bought the Computer) so, I'll just match the processor to your recomendation.

http://search.ebay.com/pentium-4-nor...Zm37QQfromZR40
AMD K6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?