Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Seasonic - would you buy one?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-07, 02:35 PM Thread Starter   #1
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Seasonic - would you buy one?


Would you buy a new Seasonic branded PSU?

Knowing that they don't exist anymore?

I guess some shops have old stock...
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 02:38 PM   #2
Scott9027
Member

 
Scott9027's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC

 
I would because I know they were quality when they were making them, so if there are a few sitting around there's no reason they wouldn't be solid. However, now that I'm replying, the question of customer support/RMA possibility enters my mind. Something to think about at least.

__________________
Rig In Transit:->
ASUS M4A78-E
AMD PII 945
OCZ Platinum 4GB
XFX HD-4890
Patriot Warp 32GB
CORSAIR 550VX
Antec 300
Acer X233
Scott9027 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 02:43 PM   #3
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Who said that Seasonic doesn't exist anymore? They are alive and still producing new PSUs under their own brand name and countless others:
http://www.seasonicusa.com/

I wouldn't hesitate to buy one.

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 02:46 PM   #4
Mpegger
Member

 
Mpegger's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC

10 Year Badge
 
I still have an old Super Tornado model in the 2nd system in my sig.

And when/why did they go out of business? I did some searches but cant turn up anything, but I cant access the asian website, only the US one.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 / ASRock Z97 Extreme4 / i7 4790K @ 4.6 / 32GiB / 780Ti
ESXi server / i7-3770s / 16GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2

-----------------------------
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

"One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

(Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
Heatware
Mpegger is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 02:54 PM Thread Starter   #5
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpegger View Post
I still have an old Super Tornado model in the 2nd system in my sig.

And when/why did they go out of business? I did some searches but cant turn up anything, but I cant access the asian website, only the US one.
I think corsair bought them
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 02:54 PM   #6
Nebulous
Señor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
I've heard/read great things about Seasonic. If I did'nt already have the PC P&C in my sig, I would'nt hesitate to buy one.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 02:55 PM   #7
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
seasonic make some of the best units around

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:01 PM   #8
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
Knowing that they don't exist anymore?
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
I think corsair bought them
LOL!
Seasonic is the OEM for Corsair VX450, HX520/620 and TX650. That's all, and they're alive and kicking.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #9
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Is seasonic better than Antec?

Sorry if that is a dumb question, I have never used or researched them...

No need for links to reviews or anything, just a general idea!
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:06 PM   #10
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Seasonic is OEM for Antec EA, TRIO, NeoHE.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:10 PM Thread Starter   #11
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by burebista View Post
Seasonic is OEM for Antec EA, TRIO, NeoHE.
WTH? Doesn't anyone make their own PSU's anymore??

haha, thanks for the info...
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:13 PM   #12
ancalime

 
ancalime's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
WTH? Doesn't anyone make their own PSU's anymore??
Seasonic does.

__________________
Main Rig
CPU: AMD X2 4200+ @ 2.71 GHz (258 x 10.5) | Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
GPU: EVGA Geforce 7800 GT (SLI) 465/1101
HDD: Western Digital 80GB | RAM: 2GB Patriot DDR 400 2-3-3-5

C2D Rig
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.7GHz | Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro
GPU: EVGA GTX260
HDD: 2x Western Digital Raptor 150GB RAID 0 | RAM: 2GB Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 1T

Heat
ancalime is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:19 PM   #13
Vento1

 
Vento1's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Swindon England

 
I have a seasonic psu never had any problems with it, and i would certainly consider another one.

__________________
OVERCLOCKERS.COM THE ONLY TEAM TO CRUNCH SETI FOR
Main rig
CPU QX9770 @ 4.0
MotherboardFoxconn Blackops
Memory 2gig Diablo
HD 450gig Raid 10
Graphics EVGA 9800 GX2
Cooling
Water
Benching rig
Anything i havent broken yet.
Vento1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:19 PM Thread Starter   #14
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalime View Post
Seasonic does.
haha I was asking for that
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:21 PM   #15
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
WTH? Doesn't anyone make their own PSU's anymore??
Hmm, let's see:
Antec OEM Seasonic, Fortron, Enhance, CWT
PC P&C OEM Win-Tact and Seasonic
Corsair OEM Seasonic and CWT
Thermaltake OEM Sirtec, HEC, CWT and some Seventeam
Chieftec OEM Sirtec Delta or CWT
Silverstone OEM Enhance, Etasis, Seventeam (Olympia) and it seems Fortron now in new Strider line
OCZ OEM Fortron, Topower, 3Y
Tagan OEM Topower

I miss something?
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #16
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by burebista View Post
Hmm, let's see:
Antec OEM Seasonic, Fortron, Enhance, CWT
PC P&C OEM Win-Tact and Seasonic
Corsair OEM Seasonic and CWT
Thermaltake OEM Sirtec, HEC, CWT and some Seventeam
Chieftec OEM Sirtec Delta or CWT
Silverstone OEM Enhance, Etasis, Seventeam (Olympia) and it seems Fortron now in new Strider line
OCZ OEM Fortron, Topower, 3Y
Tagan OEM Topower

I miss something?
You know all that off by heart? What are you, a PSU marketer or something? lol

Here's one for ya, codegen PSU's...Who makes them?
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:33 PM   #17
Vento1

 
Vento1's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Swindon England

 
Wow burebista when i need a new psu i know who to ask.

__________________
OVERCLOCKERS.COM THE ONLY TEAM TO CRUNCH SETI FOR
Main rig
CPU QX9770 @ 4.0
MotherboardFoxconn Blackops
Memory 2gig Diablo
HD 450gig Raid 10
Graphics EVGA 9800 GX2
Cooling
Water
Benching rig
Anything i havent broken yet.
Vento1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 03:47 PM Thread Starter   #18
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vento1 View Post
Wow burebista when i need a new psu i know who to ask.
yeah where did he come from all of a sudden?

hehe, stick around burebista, it would be great for you to post more often!
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-07, 04:13 PM   #19
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
You know all that off by heart? What are you, a PSU marketer or something? lol
Nope, it's just a hobby.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
Here's one for ya, codegen PSU's...Who makes them?
It's a simple one. They make them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vento1 View Post
Wow burebista when i need a new psu i know who to ask.
LOL, thanks, but I'm an apprentice you have some masters here.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-07, 04:14 PM   #20
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
I have a SeaSonic M-12 500 watt modular psu.
I was skeptical at first (about modulars) but this unit blows away anything I've owned to date.
Quiet, rock solid voltages, cables for things I don't even have yet.
Even the connectors and sleeving is top of the line.

They are worth every penny and then some....easily.
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?